Hobart's Chicken and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This recipe is excellent. It was so quick and easy. I loved the cajun spices. It tastes great with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. Great with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I thought that the quantity of water made the soup weak, so I had to add more Cajun seasoning and pepper. After it cooked down a little, the flavor of the soup was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Really, really great recipe! The blend of spices is just right. I would recommend adding another can of beans though, maybe white beans or garbanzo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Ok, so I used this recipe as the basis for a pretty decent chicken dish. I used pretty much all the stated ingredients apart from the water, but I browned the bite-size pieces of chicken in olive oil, added the onion and sauteed it, then stirred in the rest of the ingredients along with a can of chicken broth. I simmered it until the broccoli was tender - I needed to add a little more broth - and served it with plain white rice. Not bad at all. Thanks, Rodney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very good soup. My only suggestion would be to add more veggies. This soup made a lot of broth, so add more veggies. I put in more carrots and let them cook for 15 minutes before adding the broccoli. I added 2 cups broccoli. I think I am going to add some fresh green beans or zucchini next time. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe. I found myself with no small cans of diced tomatoes, so I substituted a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes for the tomatoes and sauce. I also used chicken broth in place of water and two cloves of garlic for the garlic powder. I used the "Cajun Seasoning Mix" from this site. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Sorry, but I just thought this was kind of boring. I don't specifically recall, but I'm sure I started adding more spice to get some flavor back into it... but I also always rate the recipe, not my fixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Used leftover rotisserie chicken. I picked the meat off. Then I put the carcass in broth[made with ckn broth instead of water] let it simmer about 30 min. for more flavor. I never throw out a ckn carcass. They come in so handy. Just wrap them up and throw them in the freezer til you are ready to use them. Took the carcass out. Added veggies. Carrots, onions, green beans & zucchini. Was out of broccoli. When they were tender I added chicken that was removed from the carcass before I put it in the broth. Next time I think I'll add a little rice or pasta. This is a great recipe for using up what's in your fridge. I also added some red pepper flakes. I always crush them in my hand. They blend in better that way and no one gets a mouthful. I always enjoy making a good soup. 2/19/2011 If you are worried about little ckn bones remaining in the soup wrap the carcass in cheesecloth & tie it tight & when soup is done remove the bag. It's a good precaution. Especially when the kids are slurping up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was an okay soup. Like others I found the soup week. I added more cajun spice, lots of garlic salt, and some parmesan cheese. Came out good but not one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Oh so yummy! Thanks for sharing. Upon others' advice, I used low sodium chicken stock substituted for water and added a can navy beans as well. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States