Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Growing up north of philly there are 3 things I know from birth, real cheese steaks, stromboli's, and Hoagie's. I must say this totally hit the mark. I did add some vinegar to the mixture as any hoagie I've ever had contained it. It was terrific!. I did scale this down to 4 servings and it made about 2 1/2 cups of dip even then. I chopped all the meat and cheese up rather than tore, it was faster and more uniform. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
As per suggestions by other reviewers, I added everything into my food processor & this was so easy to make! I think the addition of red wine vinegar & a little extra oregano really brings it home. Had to pass on the recipe to the host of a party I brought this to because everyone loved it! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I highly recommend making this without the lettuce & tomatoes - IT IS AWESOME & will last longer that way. That is if you have any left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is sooooo good! You swear you are biting into a sub sandwich! I do 2 things differently, I use provolone cheese instead of american and put a bowl of red wine vinegar out for guests to spoon over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famiglia Felice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I have been making this dip for years now and have become famous at our football tailgate for it. The guys love it because it is manly, but the ladies certainly do not shy away either! I serve with french bread or club rolls cut into rounds so the crowd can scoop it up. Also, I add a 1/4 lb of shredded pepperoni sometimes to add a little kick and make it like a true italian hoagie. Yummm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Really good. I cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot. I substituted Italian seasoning for the oregano and added a splash of red wine vinegar. I also served the lettuce on the side so that it was not soggy. It does taste just like a hoagie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'd been wanting to make this since a co-worker brought it in for a Super Bowl Sunday party. I took others' advice and added about a little extra mayo, 1 1/2 t. balsamic and 1 1/2 t. white vinegar to it. I used 1/2lb. ham, 1/4lb. cappicola, 1/4lb. genoa salami, 1/2lb. american, and 1/2lb. provolone. Also mixed the oregano into appr. 2T. olive oil and added it. I also cut up hoagie rolls width-wise to serve with the dip (I was born and raised in Philly, so it's Amoroso rolls only!) Hubby was skeptical, but he loved it. This recipe makes A LOT of hoagie dip, so I took some to work to share. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was a hit at our annual Mother's Day family pot luck picnic! Many copied the recipe. This really does tastes like your eating a hoagie! I added a splash of balsomic vinegar, extra mayo and oregano and I used shredded Italian cheese. I served hot pepper hoagie spread on the side. WE all loved it! This will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This did taste hoagie-esque. I think it needed more "bite", perhaps using capicola would liven it up a bit & the idea to use a little red wine vinegar is a good one. I added pickled banana peppers but they weren't acidic enough to cut the heaviness of the mayo. Very creative idea but it's doubtful that I'll make this again. Thanks for letting me try it, though:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
YUM! I was asked to bring an appetizer to an Italian dinner party. I chose this dip and it was a the hit of the evening. Everyone liked it and I've emailed this recipe to all who attended the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States