Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Awesome hearty appetizer. The quantity is huge...sometimes I only make 1/2. I use white american cheese. Definitely add red wine vinegar - 1 or even 2 tsp. I've used bagged shredded lettuce & works out well. Make the bread pieces kind of big or there isn't enough "room" for the dip. The first time I cut the bread too small & it really didn't work out too well. Some of my "guests" even eat this on rolls as a "sandwich". Someone always wants the recipe when I make it. The only drawback is that it really takes quite a while to cut or tear all of the ham, salami & cheese etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Carson
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was amazing!! The perfect mix of meats and cheeses! I scaled this recipe way down just by eyeing up the ingredients so that my boyfriend could have it as a snack, and he gave it rave reviews! Thanks for posting the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made a few changes after reading the reviews. It' a four star the way written. I used 1 cup of sour cream in place of one cup of mayo since we aren't big on mayo. I also used shredded cheese instead of the processed since that's what I had on hand. I layered the lettuce and tomatoes on top and then drizzled 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar on top and sprinkled some oregano over that. This was fantastic and it was the first thing gone from the party I took it to. I was asked numerous times for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was absolutely delicious, and coming from a Philly girl.....that's great! I used half the mayo, and replaced the rest with oil and red wine vinegar. I also added more oregano and left out the lettuce and tomato. I cut the hoagie rolls into rounds and served the dip with a spoon......and it was gone an hour later. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri. <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was just ok for us. I halved the recipe, but still had to double the sauce ingredients. I took others advice and added a tbsp. or so of red wine vinegar, which gave it a nice tang that we enjoyed. Over all, while the dip was refreshing and fairly tasty my family didn't think that it tasted quite like a hoagie. I may try this again sometime! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
So addictive! I just had this for the 1st time yesterday (my sister made it for a family gathering) and I will be making this for all parties in the future! The only differce with my sisters' is she subsituted 1 cup of cream cheese and 1 cup of mayo, instead of 2 cups mayo. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
We really enjoyed this dish. I set it up like a 'Taco Dip', and served with sliced fresh french bread. I did add a little red wine vineger in the mayo mixture. But I also drizzeled olive oil and oregano on top of the lettuce before serving. I will be making again, but I might try sliced turkey instead of salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I thought this was a good dip. I added red wine vinegar, extra mayo, and seasoning as it needed a little something extra. I also added sliced pepperoni. I will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Yum! Scaled it down to 4 servings and added a tablespoon of red wine vinegar. I also added a heaping tablespoon of light sour cream to cut down on the mayo flavor a bit. Big hit served with toasted baguette slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Wonderful Dip. It was the first thing to disappear at our Super Bowl Party. I added 2 t red wine vinegar, 2 t of Wishbone Italian dressing, 1/2 t garlic powder, 1/4 c mild banana peppers, chopped and 1 t of the juice from the banana peppers. It was superb. I had pre-sliced hoagie rolls and included a spreader spoon to make it easier for the guests to enjoy the recipe. Will DEFINITELY make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States