Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I have made this many times using refrigerated pizza dough. To keep it from being so greasy, microcwave the salami and pepperoni between paper towels. I don't use the egg, but put pizza sauce over the meat and cheese. I spray the top of the dough with non-stick spray and sprinkle Parmesean cheese, garlic powder and oregano. Use more pizza sauce for dipping. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This recipe is quick, easy and very versitile. Not being a salami fan, I added turkey instead. I have made the recipe twice now. Once with and once without the egg. If you use the egg, cut it in half. Both times I added creamy italian dressing for a little extra flavor. I would say this is a must. You really need something to give it a kick. Already we are thinking of what other hoagie ingredients we can swap out for a new taste. I used crescent rolls and liked the taste, but it is a little greasy. Definately use low fat meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
You only need 1 or 2 eggs; I used 3 and it was a waste of eggs. This was a very rich/heavy/greasy meal, but my husband enjoyed it. I bet if you listen closely enough, you can hear your arteries clogging up! (LOL) It was more like stromboli than a hoagie. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray as someone suggested, which I think really helped. Wish I had seen other reviewers' suggestions to add oregano, onions, and mushrooms before I made mine, I think it would have really enhanced it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Excellent! Quick, easy, tastes great. Since others were saying it is so greasy causing the bottom layer of dough to get soggy, I microwaved the meats on paper towels on medium power for just a couple of minutes which got a lot of the grease to come out, soaked it all up with paper towels before preparing the hoagie bake, came out great and less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
This is SOOOO good! I've cooked it several times and have made different variations of it. My favorite so far is substituting pizza dough for the crescent rolls that the recipe calls for. The crescent rolls have a slightly sweet taste to them that I don't personally care for. I also put italian dressing on over the last layer of cheese, then the egg over the italian dressing. After brushing the top layer of bread (crescent or pizza dough) I sprinkle garlic powder and parmesan cheese. I also use all Provolone cheese since I don't like Swiss cheese. Very good, lots of compliments, and the whole family agrees that they like the pizza dough version the best. They like the consistency of it. I may try it with pizza sauce instead of italian dressing next time! Thanks for the wonderful recipe and a basis to start with that I could play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Current review: I made this again but used pizza dough instead of crescent dough, per others' comments. All I can say is if you want pizza, make pizza. This recipe really is more interesting and special when made with the crescent dough. Also, 2 eggs are plenty. Finally, a good addition was to saute a red pepper, cut into strips, in olive oil and garlic; place between the meat and the cheese layers. Prior review: This turned out well; my husband and brother loved it. For me, I recommend adding "flavor" and "color" items such as herbs, tomato slices or sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach, thinly sliced sweet onion, and/or marinara sauce. Nevertheless, this was good just as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I read the reviews and decided to change this is a bit. Smoked turkey instead of the pepperoni, only half the salami and mozzarella instead of provolone. We LOVED it! It did not turn out greasy at all - we could pick our pieces up with our hands and eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I'd rate this 5 stars if I didn't have to make changes. I left out the egg because I thought it sounded yucky. I briefly microwaved the salami and pepperoni to render some of the grease. I didn't have any swiss cheese, so I substituted a good quality deli sliced American cheese. Sprinkled the meat with some oregano and sliced hot pepperoncinis to make it more hoagie-like. My husband and I really liked the finished dish. He thinks I should use some tomato sauce next time to make it more like pizza, but I think that would defeat the purpose of a "Hoagie Bake". I was looking for a way to use up a pound of dry salami I had in the fridge, and this was perfect. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I've used this recipe for a long time and have never reviewed it, so I figured it was about time. I love this recipe. I basically use ham and cheese and it turns out just wonderful. It reminds me of the ham and cheese rolls a store up the street from where I grew up as a kid sold. They were the best, but now that store is out of business. I'm glad that I can still have something that tastes like them when I want. Quick, easy, good. Who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
WEll...hubby did not dig this at all, but I loved it. I took a reviewers advice and made this "pizza style". I used pizza crust in lieu of the crescent dough and used a combination of pastrami, ham and pepperoni. I left the swiss out as others complained it overpowered the taste of the provolone. Instead of using the egg, I used spaghetti sauce. I had inteneded on using homemade pizza sauce, but was running short on time. I layered all of the ingredients on one side of the dough and folded the other side over to enclose everything...and baked as directed. Needless to say, I ate about 90% of it and it was good. Thanks Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Pesto Hoagie

Cook your chicken with veggies and pesto before tucking them into the bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States