Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was really good and super easy to throw together. The only change I made was to use 2 eggs instead of 3, although I still think 2 might have been too much, I ended up tossing part. I did microwave the pepperoni on paper towels for a few seconds to soak up some of the grease. I did bake this for about 10 minutes longer. It was perfect, not greasy or soggy at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Yumm Yumm Yummy! Not to salty at all. Made as stated. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was extremely salty. Might try again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Really good!! Loved this recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a favorite at our house - a great way to clean out the fridge of old cheeses and meats. I've always used crescent rolls when I make it, and I reduce the eggs to 2. We serve with pizza sauce on the side instead of in the bake. It's also good with italian sausage - precooked and blotted to remove the grease. I use hard salami and less pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My family - yes, even the picky one, LOVES this hoagie. It is never the same twice because I just put in whatever we have. I always use crescent rolls, eggs, cooked (scrambled) sausage, and top with egg/parm cheese. As for the other meats and cheese, just use whatever you have - get the kids envolved and let them help you decide. We've never had a problem with it being too greasy. Reheats really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
So this is another kid friendly hit! In the spirit of full disclosure, I made some changes: * I only used one egg, most of which I put on the top of the crescent rolls. * I used only mozzarella cheese (b/c that is all I had in the house) * Like some other reviewers, I took all the pepperoni and microwaved it for 1 min on top of a ton of paper towels. This completely eliminated any of the greasiness. The crescent rolls top and bottom were flaky and yummy! No sogginess here! I would definitely make this again - I think next time I will serve it with a side of marinara sauce for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I skipped the swiss and just used provolone. My husband LOVED this one!! It was really quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I used roast beef and muenster cheese and served it with dijonaisse. Pretty good and super easy to make - family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had this as a book club appetizer last year and just made it again today for a post-holiday get-together. People loved it. A couple of small differences in the recipe given to me: after layering meat, cheese, meat, cheese, meat, a 12 oz. jar of roasted red peppers are spread on and 3/4 of the egg mixture (with black pepper added in) spread on top of the peppers, then the other package of crescent rolls with the remaining egg, pepper, cheese mixture spread on top. Bake 25 min. covered and 15 min. uncovered. (I used my pyrex 13x9 and did not need any cooking spray.) Cut as you would bar cookies and serve as finger food. Less greasy as it cools of course. The red peppers add a new flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Pesto Hoagie

Cook your chicken with veggies and pesto before tucking them into the bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States