Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I just made this for the 2nd time. The first I just made it for my husband and I for dinner. We loved it so much we thought that if we sliced it into bite sized pieces it would make a GREAT party appetizer...boy were we right! It went over so big yesterday at a friends birthday bash that the platter was gone in 10 minutes! Everyone wanted the recipe! Thanks Cindy, this one gets 5+++ stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci Fecura
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was a little too salty for me, but I was feeding 8 kids and they loved it. I skipped the pepperoni and used lean turkey and pepper jack cheese instead of the swiss. I made a second one with pizza dough, sliced up italian meatballs, topped it with a little pizza sauce and mozzarela cheese, and the kids went crazy over it. No leftovers at all. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This was a big hit at my house.I made it as the recipie stated,only I used Kraft 4 cheese italiano grated cheese instead of the other cheeses listed.I would definately make it again.No leftovers here.Mine was mot greasy at all as others stated.It probably depends on the cheese uesed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This is great and easy! I halved the recipe, but used close to the original amount of meat and it was just the right size for my husband and I! Next time I might try different meats, my husband thought the salami was a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This recipe is awesome! I made this one afternoon when my sister, brother-in-law, and nephew were visiting and there were absolutely no leftovers.Definitely not for those on a diet, but sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This was delicious! I made the recipe mostly "as is," other than the cheese since I wanted to use what I had on had, plus I don't care for Swiss anyway. Used shredded mozzarella and a bit of a shredded four-cheese blend. I liked it just the way it was without added spices, but I'm a person with simple tastes, too! I didn't find this greasy at all. Thanks for the yummy recipe, Cindy! My husband just gobbled this up! I'm going to have fun making all sorts of variations, too, like others have mentioned. Made again a week later with the following changes: lots of meat and cheese and no egg. If you find your hoagie bake too greasy, you've used too much meat and cheese. "Less is More!" The first time I made this, I just did a simple single layer of each of the meats and was generous, but not crazy with shredded cheese and it was the perfect combo of bread and meat and cheese with every bite and not at all greasy! I didn't notice a big difference not using the egg, but for some reason the bake just tasted better using the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This baked sandwich is a hit with family and neighbors. The only change we made was use provolone instead of swiss cheese. Thanks -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
We tried this the other night and no one liked it at all (myself or my two kids) except my husband who thought it was ok. It was too greasy and not a good kind of greasy like another person posted. This was a total waste of very expensive meats and cheeses. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Wonderfully quick and easy. I used cooked italian sausage, canadian bacon, swiss and hot pepper jack cheese and omitted the eggs entirely. They were not missed and this was baked to perfection as described in the recipe. Also, what little was left made yummy leftovers. Thank you Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This is great...quick and easy to make and my sons loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Pesto Hoagie

Cook your chicken with veggies and pesto before tucking them into the bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States