Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
The recipe is great as is, but I've modified it in a couple different ways. I use about 2 tsp of italian seasoning, which makes it taste like an italian-style stuffed breakfast pizza. I also sometimes substitute the meats with whatever kind of lunchmeat I have, like turkey or ham, and also put in twice the amount of eggs to bulk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
We have had this a few times now and find it very simple and tasty. It is great served cold the next day for lunch, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
It's like a BMT sub, but better! My husband and kids Loved it. I will be making it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I'd rate this 5 stars if I didn't have to make changes. I left out the egg because I thought it sounded yucky. I briefly microwaved the salami and pepperoni to render some of the grease. I didn't have any swiss cheese, so I substituted a good quality deli sliced American cheese. Sprinkled the meat with some oregano and sliced hot pepperoncinis to make it more hoagie-like. My husband and I really liked the finished dish. He thinks I should use some tomato sauce next time to make it more like pizza, but I think that would defeat the purpose of a "Hoagie Bake". I was looking for a way to use up a pound of dry salami I had in the fridge, and this was perfect. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
easy and yummy!!! had unexpected guests pop in and they stole our would-be leftovers, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. I found that when I cooked it even only 21 minutes on 325, the bottom was browning much sooner, faster than the top. I chose to creative 'flip' it, so the bottom wouldn't get too much browner... Since I halfed the recipe, this was doable.....but if i had made the original recipe size, then it wouldn't have been too easy to flip, and i think the outcomme would have been a crispy bottom and a not cooked top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Thought this was pretty good, don't know that I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This had a pretty good taste but was a little too greasy for my taste. I probably will however make it again, but modify some of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
My family loved this! Excellent recipe. Will make again for sure. Omitted egg and used turkey in place of pepperoni. Also used reduced fat crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
EXCELLANT! My husband and kids loved it, and i went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Pesto Hoagie

Cook your chicken with veggies and pesto before tucking them into the bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States