Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is an excellent receipe! I made this last night for my husband and his buddies and they all raved and wanted to know what was in it. I made a few changes; I used roast beef and turkey for the meats and pepper jack and swiss cheese. I also sauteed onions, mushrooms, and green peppers and added them to the bake. I would highly reccommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Good recipe. I halfed the recipe. Used one can of crescent rolls and only 1 egg. Baked in a 9x9 baking dish. Didn't have any salami. Used ham and pepperoni. I warmed the pepperoni in the microwave to get some of the grease off as suggested in other reviews. Sprinkled the top after the egg wash with dried oregano, garlic powder and onion powder then followed with the parmesan cheese. Used the same cooking time. Worked great. My husband and daughter loved it...me too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My family liked this recipe very much. I made it with all turkey products and provolone and mozzerella cheese.I sprinkled a little garlic powder and italian seasoning over the bottom layer of bread. I only used 1 egg to brush on the top and added poppy seeds like another reviewer suggested. My family wants to try this with marinara sauce next. I will definitely make this again for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was good, but I think it was a little greasy. Maybe if I got leaner cuts of the deli meats it would be better. But it just seemed to need something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I think this is a very good recipe. After brushing the top with the egg wash I sprinkle poppy seeds over the top. My 6 kids and husband love it! Goes especially well with tomato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Vienna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was good and could have many variations. Left overs aren't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
my husband who NEVER eats leftovers ate all this up! I even printed it up for friends to make their hubbies...ive also recently made this as a Ruben bake...mmm make sure you rinse drain and squeeze all the water you can out of the sauerkraut I did one layer thin sliced corned beef (or turkey if you like Rachels) sprinkled the sauerkraut, a layer of swiss and another layer of thin sliced corned beef and served it with thousand Island dressing for dipping...this would also be good with roast beef and brie, ham and cheddar, Turkey, bacon and and cheddar, ive made Pepperoni and mozzerella with a jar of pizza sauce for dipping (sprinkle garlic lightly over egg wash)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Vosachlo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is a hit with my 3 sons! In fact, my oldest asks for it a lot for his birthday since the tradition in my house is that they get whatever they want for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I followed everyone's advice and cut the recipe down to two eggs. The ingredients I filled the hoagie with were low-sodium turkey and ham plus genoa salami. I used Munster and Provolone cheese and I also included a jar of fried onions and peppers found in the pasta aisle at our grocery store. It disappeared in minutes and I'm being asked for the recipe :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Like this needs another review, but we thought this was fantastic. Made it for only 2 for lunch, so only used 1 8oz package of crescents in a 8X8 pan. Didn't have ham so used turkey. I also cut up a few pepperoncinis and put a few splashes of balsamic vinaigrette. I did use the egg, and I'm glad I did. I also sprinkled the top with some Italian Seasoning, some minced onion and a little parm cheese. Even though it was smaller, it needed 25 minutes to cook and I never covered it. Not greasy, just super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States