Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Yumm Yumm Yummy! Not to salty at all. Made as stated. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was extremely salty. Might try again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Really good!! Loved this recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a favorite at our house - a great way to clean out the fridge of old cheeses and meats. I've always used crescent rolls when I make it, and I reduce the eggs to 2. We serve with pizza sauce on the side instead of in the bake. It's also good with italian sausage - precooked and blotted to remove the grease. I use hard salami and less pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My family - yes, even the picky one, LOVES this hoagie. It is never the same twice because I just put in whatever we have. I always use crescent rolls, eggs, cooked (scrambled) sausage, and top with egg/parm cheese. As for the other meats and cheese, just use whatever you have - get the kids envolved and let them help you decide. We've never had a problem with it being too greasy. Reheats really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
So this is another kid friendly hit! In the spirit of full disclosure, I made some changes: * I only used one egg, most of which I put on the top of the crescent rolls. * I used only mozzarella cheese (b/c that is all I had in the house) * Like some other reviewers, I took all the pepperoni and microwaved it for 1 min on top of a ton of paper towels. This completely eliminated any of the greasiness. The crescent rolls top and bottom were flaky and yummy! No sogginess here! I would definitely make this again - I think next time I will serve it with a side of marinara sauce for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I skipped the swiss and just used provolone. My husband LOVED this one!! It was really quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I used roast beef and muenster cheese and served it with dijonaisse. Pretty good and super easy to make - family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had this as a book club appetizer last year and just made it again today for a post-holiday get-together. People loved it. A couple of small differences in the recipe given to me: after layering meat, cheese, meat, cheese, meat, a 12 oz. jar of roasted red peppers are spread on and 3/4 of the egg mixture (with black pepper added in) spread on top of the peppers, then the other package of crescent rolls with the remaining egg, pepper, cheese mixture spread on top. Bake 25 min. covered and 15 min. uncovered. (I used my pyrex 13x9 and did not need any cooking spray.) Cut as you would bar cookies and serve as finger food. Less greasy as it cools of course. The red peppers add a new flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I find the idea of using pizza dough intriguing, as crescent roll dough is WAY too sweet to blend with the meats in this dish. Also, after 35 minutes in the oven, the inside of our bottom layer of crescent dough was still soggy, mushy, and uncooked. I loved the concept, and wouldn't change any other ingredients other than the the crescent dough into pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States