Hoagie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very easy to put together so preparation was a snap. I added hot peppers, black pepper and garlic powder to the layer of cheese and put italian seasoning on the top with the parm cheese. I substituted the provolone for muenster cheese. WOW, this was tasty! Even our picky nine year old liked it. I will make this again--FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I made this using Turkey, Chicken, Turkey Pepperoni, onions and on half I put cooked turkey bacon. I also used mozzarella cheese instead. Mine looked good after baking about 23 min uncovered in the oven, but it said to cook another 10 min covered. Before I covered it the top was nice and flakey but after I cooked it covered it was all soft so If I make this again I'll skip the cooking it covered for 10 min part because I don't think it did much for it. Didn't have any problem with it being soggy on the bottom though. I also bought the butter flavored cresent rolls because the store was out of the regular kind, and the butter flavor was kind of weird. It was good, but it was way too filling. After I ate a small piece I felt like I ate a brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was so easy and yummy!! And the best part was my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
After reading all the good reviews I was surprised by how bland this was. All I tasted was cresent rolls. It needs mayo or a marinara sauce in it. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I left the ham for this recipe at work, i didn't have the right meat or cheese. I ended up using slices of turkey, sliced chicken cooked w/onions and minced garlic and left over sausage. I added green and red bell peppers and mushrooms on top of the meates. On top of the cheese I put thinly sliced tomatoes. Also after I cooked covered for ten minutes the bread looked a little too moist. I cooked uncovered for five more minutes so the cresent bread wouldn't be soggy. Good, but not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was good. I used ALL roast beef and I thought I had swiss cheese, but "someone" (no not ME) decided to snack on it, so I had to use Cheddar & Mozzarella. Mine came out a little soggy too, due to the cheeses I used I'm sure. Still a great recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Big hit at my house!! I made this for the first time and my husband raved about it! My kids enjoyed it too. Very simple and fast to make. I used turkey pepperoni instead of regular pepperoni because of the grease. I also put a little smoked turkey breast in too. Used only provolone cheese, no swiss, because other reviews said it was too salty, not a big swiss fan anyway. Next time maybe we'll try some veggies like mushrooms, onion or olives. Some others also commented about sogginess, but we didn't find that to be a problem. Will make again! Thanks Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Oh my is this good!! Great thing is you can add or change the meats or veggies to however you like. Adding Black olives and some red onion was the hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Yummy! I modified this, used turkey, ham, and roast beef, added sliced pickles, tomatoes, and onion between the meat and cheese layers, and only used Swiss cheese. The tomatoes and pickles made it a little runny/messy when it was hot, but it still tasted great! The leftovers the next day were wonderful too! Going to try it tonight as written, maybe add some sliced olives and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was sooo good. I wish it made more though. I only used 1 beaten egg for the top croissant roll. I also added red onion to one half of it. Next time I will add peppers and mushrooms. I also took a previous reviewer's advice and microwaved my greasier meat for 30 seconds. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Pesto Hoagie

Cook your chicken with veggies and pesto before tucking them into the bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States