Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
This is a fantastic cake! I used Duncan Hines Swiss cake mix and instead of using the recipe for icing, I used Duncan Hines Milk Chocolate canned icing. Pop it in the micowave just long enough to melt it to spreading consistency (about 20-30 seconds) and pour and spread it over the filling. Don't get the icing HOT, it will melt the filling. I didn't refrigerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
This is an amazingly easy recipe with an exceptional chocolate and cream flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
I took this to a potluck with a "Mexican food/anything chocolate" theme for a fellow employee leaving the state. It was a major success, and one of my friends (usually a minor sweet eater) had two pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This cake is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
this was a very big hit with my family and friends i will make this cake miny more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This cake is time consuming to make, but the reaction I get is worth all the time. I made it for the in-laws and now I am not allowed to come over unless I bring the cake with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
A little time consuming, but DEFINATELY worth the work. This has become one of our family's favorite birthday requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Wow this was a great cake. I did mess up a little but it was still great. A hit at work and home. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Everyone loved this cake! If you like ho hos you will love it too! I'd read the reviews and as one reviewer stated, I too was concerned with the raw egg in the topping...so I eliminated it and added and extra tsp of hot water to thin it out just a little. As far as other reviewers concerns regarding having trouble spreading the chocolate on top of the cream, remember the recipe says to refrigerate it before adding the chocolate. I simply put it in the freezer (with the cream filling on top) for about 15 minutes and then added the chocolate frosting...it went on super easy. To the reviewer who said she was an experienced cook and hated the recipe, I'd say give it another whirl! If done correctly this is a wonderful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I just made this cake for the 4th of July party and it was excellant. I ignored all the negative reviews because I thought it would be good and it was. The one review that said to be patient and let everything cool completly, whip the frosting alot and freeze the cake for 15 min. was the best advice. The chocolate frosting went on so smooth and the cake was very pretty with red, white & blue star sprinkles on top. Everyone loved it!!!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States