Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
This is an amazingly easy recipe with an exceptional chocolate and cream flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
This is a fantastic cake! I used Duncan Hines Swiss cake mix and instead of using the recipe for icing, I used Duncan Hines Milk Chocolate canned icing. Pop it in the micowave just long enough to melt it to spreading consistency (about 20-30 seconds) and pour and spread it over the filling. Don't get the icing HOT, it will melt the filling. I didn't refrigerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
I took this to a potluck with a "Mexican food/anything chocolate" theme for a fellow employee leaving the state. It was a major success, and one of my friends (usually a minor sweet eater) had two pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This is a lousy recipe!!! I am an experienced baker and the recipe is inaccurate. The filling does not set up and worse, you can not spread a frosting (as opposed to a GLAZE, which this should be) over a creamy filling. Trust me it does not work!!! All in all, a very frustrating experience!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This cake is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This tasted disgusting! The filling tasted like sweetened Crisco but was grainy. I took it to a potluck and was embarrassed hoping no one would know who made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Wow...Not too terrible, and not at all as terrible as others have stated in their reviews, boy people can be very harsh...Granted, I didn't care for it, but no need for me to be blunt about it, it truly would be a boring world if everyone had the same tastes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
I made this for work and everyone liked it. For the person who said the filling tastes like Crisco, maybe they've never eaten real Ho-Hos before, because they taste like Crisco too. :-) If you have difficulty spreading the chocolate over the white filling, you should take a couple of precautions. First, make sure your milk and flour mixture is quite thick when you cook it. It should be about the consistency of soft margarine. Next, make sure you refrigerate the cake & filling layer for at least an hour prior to spreading the frosting. Finally, gradually add the powdered sugar when making the chocolate frosting so that you don't make it too thick. When you put the frosting on top of the white filling, drop it by the tablespoon all over the top of the cake. (There should be enough frosting to almost cover the entire cake using this mechanism.) This will simplify the spreading process and make spreading the frosting easy. Overall, a nice chocolate cake recipe that I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
this was a very big hit with my family and friends i will make this cake miny more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This cake is time consuming to make, but the reaction I get is worth all the time. I made it for the in-laws and now I am not allowed to come over unless I bring the cake with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States