Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I just made this cake for the 4th of July party and it was excellant. I ignored all the negative reviews because I thought it would be good and it was. The one review that said to be patient and let everything cool completly, whip the frosting alot and freeze the cake for 15 min. was the best advice. The chocolate frosting went on so smooth and the cake was very pretty with red, white & blue star sprinkles on top. Everyone loved it!!!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made this last night and already got an email request for the recipe. I took some others advice and skipped the raw egg adding an extra tsp of water. Icing on the top seems it could be improved, but otherwise it definitely tastes like the crisco filled ho ho. I did not have any problems with grainy consistancy - sounds like that person's filling needed some extra whipping. A bit time consuming but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Everyone loved this cake! If you like ho hos you will love it too! I'd read the reviews and as one reviewer stated, I too was concerned with the raw egg in the topping...so I eliminated it and added and extra tsp of hot water to thin it out just a little. As far as other reviewers concerns regarding having trouble spreading the chocolate on top of the cream, remember the recipe says to refrigerate it before adding the chocolate. I simply put it in the freezer (with the cream filling on top) for about 15 minutes and then added the chocolate frosting...it went on super easy. To the reviewer who said she was an experienced cook and hated the recipe, I'd say give it another whirl! If done correctly this is a wonderful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
The cream filling wasn't any good until I added more powdered sugar and still wasn't worth taking to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Wow this was a great cake. I did mess up a little but it was still great. A hit at work and home. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
this recipe was awful. what a shame it was published as good. It was not edible. It tasted like gritty sweetened shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Wonderful. I tried this many moons ago in Ohio and absolutely fell in love. My cream bit was yellow, though and their's was not. Maybe it was my butter flavored Crisco I used. Aslo, it didn't stiffen like I hoped. The milk/flour mixture was just barely warm to the touch when I added it, couldn't wait any longer. I wonder if this was why. The cake and topping were superb. Hubby and I loved it! If anyone has any recommendations on the fluffy part please email me. I'd like to make it again but with better results. :0) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeKe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
A little time consuming, but DEFINATELY worth the work. This has become one of our family's favorite birthday requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
everyone loved it. i thought there were too many steps and time consuming to cool. i liked the suggestion of another member to use canned frosting that has been slightly melted in microwave. i am concerned about the raw egg in the chocolate topping of this recipe. anyone else bothered by that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Not too hard to fix, heavenly to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States