Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Just like a giant Ding Dong! Delicious! Very easy to make even though it has several steps. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
T really did taste like a ho ho. don't know what did wrong but couldn't get the right consistency on the cream center. t was stll delicious despite how unattractive it was both boyfriend and baby enjoyed it but made fun of me for the way it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I make a dessert two times a week to take in to my workplace and by far when I took this dessert in it got rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and thought that it would be sickning sweet but it is definitly a dessert worth making. You will get many compliments when you make this. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsgrove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrscarter23
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Absolutely delicious! However, I used a store bought Chocolate fudge icing, and it tastes just like the ho ho cake I had at a restaraunt! I probably would have not used as much shortening though. I made this for Valentines day, I can't wait until my family tries it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made this recipe and EVERYONE loved it. I think that I gave out the recipes to 6 or 7 people that day. Just as previously commented you MUST cream the shortening, margarine and sugar at least 10-12 minutes and do not leave out the flour and milk either. Once you spread it on the cake, refrigerate it for about an hour then spread the icing. I did not make the icing from the recipe. To save time and dishes, I used duncan hines classic chocolate icing. It was perfect. I will make again. Next time I might try to make it a layer cake. But this was wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDUGATOR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe for years (but with a scratch cake). I also use the filling for almost every two layer cake I make. The key to this type of filling is that YOU MUST WHIP IT FOR 10 - 12 MINUTES. The longer you mix, the creamier it gets. If your filling is grainy, you just haven't mixed it enough. Another great tip about this cake is that it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made this recipe for Christmas day....."Oh my God and I gotta have this recipe", that is what I heard from all who tried it. I used a reguar cake mix and made it in a jelly roll pan, doubled the creme mixture and then I made it simpler by using a canned frosting. Just mivrowave the frosting for about 20 seconds and it just went on the cake extremely easy. This is a great dessert. It wil be asked for at all the family get togethers for a long time to come!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenmits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I have been making this for years now . A few things . First , I too use a good quality canned frosting (no it isnt a glaze as one person stated ) warmed until spreadable. As another suggested chill the cake well & then drop spooonfuls of frosting all over the cake , gently spread until covered . Follow the directions as stated for the filling , dont skip the flour/milk part , its strange but it DOES work . Use Crisco not the cheaper stuff , in this recipe you get out what you put in . Finally ... its a HoHo cake , the filling tastes exactly like its namesake so if you dont like HoHos, then dont bother. I personally have never had a crumb left over when I take this anywhere .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This recipe came out very well with some tweeking. I gave it only four stars because i could not get the grainy texture out of the filling. instead of a sheet cake, i made 2 9 inch rounds and stacked the cakes with the filling in the middle (skipped the milk and flour part, maybe why it was grainy) i doubled the frosting to cover the cake and seal in the moistness, i think the icing will spread better when on cake instead of directly on the filling. I did refridgerate the whole cake with filling to make icing the sides easier. worked great as a birthday cake and got lots of praise from kids and adults, i just wish the sugar in the filling would have blended in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This is a super easy recipe, and my kids love it! I am not real happy about the egg, so I buy regular canned chocolate frosting and microwave it about 30 seconds to make it kinda runny, then just pour it on top. Takes less time and my mind is at ease. After making it 3 nights in one week, I told the kids they would have to make it themselves, and they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States