Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This has become my husband's birthday cake request. It truly tastes like a ho ho. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I had trouble with the filling. I wouldn't "fluff" even after 10 min of beating. But it still tasted great! I did round layer cake - makes a nice presentation! I too am iffy about the raw egg. Next time I think I'll try that making it without the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Judging by the other 37 reviews, it seems I'm the first to notice that there's an obvious misprint in the recipe, which calls for a 9-oz. cake mix, and luckily the other reviewers just happened to use what the recipe SHOULD call for, which is a standard, 18.5 oz. cake mix. I think this recipe would be disastrous if a 9 oz. cake mix was actually used. Having said that, I was very pleased with this cake, as were about 10 other people, who completely polished it off. Where margarine was called for I substituted butter. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the filling to give it a flavor boost, however, even with the vanilla the filling was still more fluffy and creamy than flavorful, but it was perfect when considered as a whole with the finished cake. I made the cake in two 9" layers, with the filling thickly in between and it was definitely unique looking, but baking this in three layers would probably have been easier to work with. Rather than the unsweetened chocolate in the glaze I used a fine quality bittersweet chocolate which I was pleased with. I whipped the ingredients rather than stirring them as I wanted a fluffy frosting rather than a glaze, and it was enough to frost the entire cake. I finished it off with brown and white jimmies. A perfectly decadent dessert sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Awesome. Time consuming, but everyone loved it. It truly tastes just like a Ho Ho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I made this for a family gathering last night and everyone loved. I made it according to the recipe. I didn't read the reviews first and did have some lumps in my flour mixture, not too many and removed them. I liked the blander taste of the cream filling, because the rich chocolate filling works with it to make a good combination. I had no trouble spreading the chocolate mixture over the cream filling. Not a health food but would recommend for a decadent dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I do not use a raw egg in this recipe, rather I use egg beaters since they are pasteurized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as stated.. I was kind of nervous about it, reading some of the bad reviews, but it turned out scrumptuous!!I did notice when making the flour and milk mixture that after it started thickening, it wanted to lump up...I just kept stirring it after I took it off of the heat and the lumps disappeared...It was fine when it to the sugar mixture...just stir it good before doing so...I am about to go to the kitchen and make my second one, as I have party tonight and it has been requested..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Cleaver Geitner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This cake is sooo rich! One small peice is all I could handle, but my kids loved it. It was too sweet to keep to ourselves so my husband took more than half to work to share and they all raved about it too! I made the cake from scratch and followed the receipe exact except I only had 1/2 c. shortening so I used 1 c. butter. Another reviewer mentioned it tasted like a glob of shortening and I must admit it had the same sort of texture, but it tasted much better that shortening and even a little like a Ho-Ho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I added two tsp of pure vanilla to the cream part and it was excellent. Great compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
So so recipe. I whipped the filling for 12 minutes as suggested. It had absolutely no flavor. The frosting is what gave it the sweetness. After refrigerating, the filling tasted like a hard slab of crisco...yuck. I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States