Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I was going to give this a two star rating, but didn't feel that would be fair, since I am basing my rating on the filling alone. I made a from-scratch Hershey's recipe chocolate cake, which is divine, and another recipe for the chocolate glaze. I looked high and low for a filling recipe and came across this one and decided to give it a try. I was really disappointed with how Crisco-like it was. Really, yuck. I added about 1/4 c of powdered sugar and it didn't help. I just used it as is, and no one else complained about it, but I wanted something lighter and less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is defiantly a crowd favorite. I have made it 3 times now and the last time I couldn't get the frosting to pour over cake, I had to spoon and spread it on like a normal frosting and the first two times I didn't have to, it pored on almost like a glaze? Does anyone have a trick for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chersie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The filling was a little greasy tasting to me so I added about a cup of confectioners sugar. I then had too much filling for one cake - so I made two! They were well received at both gatherings I brought them too. I decorated the top with a curley-cue of filling to make it resemble a Hostess cupcake - a real conversation starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chersie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I love Ho Ho's. This cake was good but not quite up to what I expected. I followed the directions exactly but I also had to add about 1/2 cup of sugar and a Tablespoon of vanilla to the white filling. It was better but it's still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Used a jelly roll pan (11" x 15") instead. Bake the cake for 18-20 minutes. For the chocolate topping, substituted three packs pre-melted chocolate for the unsweetened squares which is much easier. Using the jelly roll pan makes the cake perfect for cutting into bite-sized pieces for a party or pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Good! White layer was a little bland so I added about 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Everybody liked it :-) Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Everyone loved the ho ho cake, definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My girlfriend is a HUGE fan of Hoho's, and she and I both thought the filling was a little overbearing. She said (and I agree) that there is a little too much cream. I did what some others recommended and added vanilla and sugar to the cream, but it was still very Crisco-y to the taste, and in fact, it made us both sick. We typically eat pretty healthy, but thought we would splurge for her birthday. Overall, the cake was good, and she agreed with the overall consistency of a Hoho- the cream is not that dominant. It wasn't horrible, but we wouldn't make it again. The recipe could definitely use some work. I'd try something totally different next time. Oh and I did use Pillsbury Devils Food Cake Mix, and that was awesome. As for the chocolate top layer, perfect! So so good. A little weird eating raw egg, though, if you follow the recipe. Eeeek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karasmattic
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made as a cupcake they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Yummy!! I took the advice of others and creamed the margarine, crisco and sugar for at least 12 minutes. I also used a canned frosting and it was delicious. My mother in law is a caterer and she was even impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States