Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. I almost followed the recipe exactly, except I added 1 tbsp of vanilla extract to the filling and I used a regular sized box of chocolate fudge cake mix. Finally, stand mixers are great to use with this recipe because the filling takes a long time to mix. You cannot go wrong with this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Everyone at Work Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladykbug
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I figured out the cream filling! Here's how I made this cake: I used Duncan Hines Devils Food cake mix, baking it in a large cookie sheet. Cool and put in freezer for about 10 minutes. Cut in half, put half on your cake plate. set other half aside. Filling: melt 1/2 the butter in sauce pan, turn off heat, add flour and use whisk to stir well, turn heat back on low, add milk slowly, whisking constantly. When the consistancy of thick pudding take off heat and continue stirring. Let cool. Beat the rest of your butter with Crisco & sugar. Add cooled milk mixture. Beat it on med high. Add a touch of vanilla. Slow beaters down to low and whip until you feel it's fluffy enough. It's not going to fluff like a meringue, just be light and creamy. Put cream filling on top of cake spreading evenly and level, put in freezer for about 10 minutes. Put other half of cake on top....frost as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have been making this cake for over 30 years and it is by far my most requested dessert. I do have a few changes that have worked nicely for me. Bake the choc cake in a jelly roll pan. Cool and put in freezer. Middle: Make the milk thickening and cool.(I put a cover lightly over it to help keep the top from drying out.) In bowl, 1 stick softened butter, 1/2 Crisco, 1 c. sugar and add milk thickening; beat 3-4 min until fluffy. Spread over frozen cake. I drop in sections and smooth to the edges. (The middle is not so over powering.) Return to freezer. Frosting: In bowl 3 c. sifted powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 2 1/2 Tbs. hot water, 1 melted stick butter, 1 raw egg, and 3 pkgs of Nestle premelted unsweetened choc (found in groc store with baking supplies in yellow box) Beat until frosting appears glossy and spread quickly over cake to edges. I store with non-stick foil over top, sometimes making layers when I have time. Never a problem with raw egg. Remind people to keep cake refrig. I always keep one in my freezer. Remove 30-45 min. before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was good, not great. The filling has potential but was pretty bland as-is. I love the rich, creaminess of it and I think with some added flavor (maybe replace some of the milk with a liqueur?) it would really be great. Also helps to doctor the mix a bit. Some cocoa powder and sour cream go a long way. For those concerned about the raw egg, there's a simple fix. Whisk your chocolate, egg, and water together in a double boiler. This will both melt your chocolate and pasteurize your egg. After you remove it from heat, stir in the butter until melted and finally the sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My HO HO Cake recipe is different. Bake a dark choc cake as directed on the box. Cool completely... Beat until stiff the following: 3/4 cup sugar, 2/3 cup white crisco, 1/2 soft butter, 5 oz evap milk and 1 tsp vanilla...spread on cake. Melt 1 container Fudge frosting just enough to pour over white mixture. Refrigerate 2 hrs. THIS IS AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this last week and the family loved it. The cream was light and fluffy, no grittiness whatsoever. I taste tested the cream and felt that it was lacking flavor (probably one of the reasons that I personally never liked Ho Hos), so I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 3/4 cup of confectioners sugar and it was terrific!! The whole cake came together very easily and is a nice change to traditional frosting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I whipped the filling in a stand mixer for 20 minutes and it came out smooth, light and fluffy. My husband loved it. Follow the directions exactly and don't skimp (you need to do the flour milk thing, its not the same if you don't. It will just be crisco and sugar if you don't do all the steps). It really does taste like a ho ho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This cake is sooo good! The filling tasted strange on it's own (and the whole flour cooked with the milk was weird) but paired with the cake and the topping it was great. I did add an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the filling. Tastes exactly like a ho ho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! As others suggested, I added vanilla to the cream filling for more flavor. I also added a heaping tablespoon of confectioner's sugar to make it a little creamier. You do have to blend for a long time to get it really creamy and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States