Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Made this yesterday. Followed recipe to the tee except to add vanilla to the creamy filling. Made it in bundt form - cut in half w/filling in the middle - glaze on top. Excellant cake - alot of steps but will make again for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
FOR SURE needed more vanilla but was an awesome cake for my husband who does not like icing and wanted something different. We did however prefer it left OUT of the fridge and it was just fine. In the fridge the filling got too hard and was nasty to eat, it was no longer fluffy but alot like icing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I gave this 3 stars ... it's not terrible - but it's a pretty standard chocolate cake recipe with a lot of prep work ... the cream filing isn't any special - and the frosting is REALLY REALLY rich ... Next time I'll whip up a classic chocolate cake and homemade frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
My family loved this - it was not as difficult to make as I thought it would be. Just be careful melting the chocolate frosting - do it slowly to get the right consistency. I used a BC Choc Fudge cake mix and frosting for this and will do so again. There wasn't a piece left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was pretty good, but I just did not like the filling. It was too heavy on the shortening, not enough butter. I'm sure some don't mind, but I dont' like that "stick to the roof of your mouth" greasiness in frostings/fillings made with too much Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
What a disappointment! I requested my mother make this for my birthday. The cream tasted very much like flavorless salve. I am a sugar freak and will eat ANYTHING sweet. I took three bites (wanted to give it a fair shot) and was done. I can't remember the last time I didn't finish a piece of cake. ESPECIALLY a piece of birthday cake. If you are hoping for something amazing, this isn't the recipe you want! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Bumphrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great recipe for birthday cakes or special occasions only because it takes a little more time to prepare. I subbed the margarine with butter, Butter flavored Crisco for shortening and added a tsp. of real vanilla to whipped frosting. I'm not sure why the fuss over the filling being tasteless-it has great taste-like whipped frosting, not the heavy sugary frosting-which for us was a great change. The birthday girl just loved this as did all 10 of her guests. Thanks for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This cake is awesome. I have had a recipe for Ho Ho Cake before but it does not beat this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very good cake. I thought it tasted better after a few days of sitting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I do not recommend this recipe. It was expensive considering the amount of ingredients, and the wipped topping tastes very buttery and artificial. you would be better served making a chocolate cake and topping it with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States