Hillary Clinton's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
My husband and some of our friends really liked these. I would have given them a 5 for taste but their appearance was kind of pale and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These were the best choc. chip cookies I have ever made. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I don’t like using shortening so I cut it down and replaced it with 4tbs butter instead. The cookies turned out great, crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. As reviewer AKMartin said, Ghirardelli chocolate chips make for a sublime cookie. I didn’t need to oil the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Quick to make and very tasty. I used 1/2c butter and 1/2c shortening. I only used 1c brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. They seemed plenty sweet to me w/o the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I used to bake all the cookies as a local bakery and found this to be a great recipe. I substituted butter for the shortening and baked them on a baking stone. I also throw in a handfull of chopped pecans. The Ghirardelli semi sweet chips have been the best to use so far. They also seem to have to bake about 12 minutes in my oven before they are "right" for me, the first batch about 2 minutes longer. I thought my oven was off temp wise but the oven thermometer I put in agreed with the oven on the temp. I have made them over 30 times for various parties and that is all everyone wants me to bring. For those who said they turned out thin, I am scratching my head in wonder since mine always turn out fairly thick. Maybe the baking stone is the difference there, or even the butter, or pecans. I would also chunk your baking soda and get a fresh box just in case. If none of that works, It could be how you are mixing them. Usally people over mix cookie doughs. One other possibility is the type of oatmeal you are using. I use the quick oats. The old fashioned require longer to absorb the moisture to cook which could cause some thinning to occur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I've been making this cookie recipe since Bill Clinton first ran for president. The oatmeal cuts the sweetness, so I sometimes use 1 cup semi sweet chips and 1 cup milk chocolate chips. Kids and adults love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This cookie is missing the mark BIG time! I think of a chocolate chip cookie, and I imagine somewhat of a mild buttery vanilla flavour...this is lacking in taste big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These are soooo yummy!! I didn't use oats, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
These were heavenly. I too used butter flavored shortening, and I split the chips into 1 cup regular, and 1/2 cup each of butterscotch and white chocolate chips. MMMMmmm! Only left them in 8 minutes so they were still chewy on the insides. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kja303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Substitued butter for the shortening. You can add wheat flour and repace the white sugar with brown, and use fiber oats for a healthier substitute. It turned out great! Added more oats at the end to thicken them up - if not, they come out a little too thin. Good idea for grinding the oats, but overall a good cookie recipe. I was really suprised at how tasty they were! Best eaten fresh from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States