High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Too tough to eat. The family was joking that they may be done chewing it by tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
A 2.5 eye round turned out perfectly. Try this. You will not be disappointed. I'll never buy deli roast beef again. Salt, pepper, and garlic powder did the trick wonderfully. The true test? My dog sits patiently waiting for a slice to "fall off" the carving board. Deli roast beef? He won't eat it. (What does he know that I don't?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger D.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I was so looking forward to my 2.7 lb roast. However when I opened the oven door after 2.5 hours, the pan was cool to touch and the meat thermometer wouldn't register a reading. Although it was nicely browned on the outside the inside was raw. My gas oven is only a few years old and has never given me problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Creek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Perfection, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I chopped up potatoes and carrots and put them in with the roast, not sure how it would turn out. I got back (starving) from the gym 21/2 hours later to an unbelievable dinner! My boyfriend was delighted as his only job was to turn off the oven (and clean the kitchen hehe). This recipe goes in my cookbook. Foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This recipe made me sign up for this web site! I cook pretty often, but have always been afraid to try making roast beef. I figured it would come out like chalk. The prospect of throwing away meat is more than I can take. Well this came out just like meat at a restaurant or expensive deli. I have to say I did use a different cut of meat (a round roast from the butt because it had a good layer of fat on top and nice marbling through the meat). I did NOT allow the meat to reach room temperature before I cooked it. I pulled it from the fridge, rinsed and tied the meat with twine (I have read this helps the meat to retain its round shape and juices.) I seasoned it with Kitchen Bouquet, salt, pepper, and garlic. "Painting" the meat with Kitchen Bouquet made a nice deep crust on the outside. I followed the cooking instructions, only adjusting for the weight of the meat I was cooking, which was 2 lbs. I allowed the oven to reach 500 and waited an extra ten minutes to make sure that the oven was really hot as was suggested in another comment (thanks!) then I lowered the temperature to 475, shoved the roast in the oven and let it roast for 15 mins, then I turned the oven off and did NOT open the door. Two hours later (people around here do not like really rare meat) I pulled out a piece of meat that looked like it had been on the grill a tad too long. I stuck my meat thermometer in and the meat was at 140 degrees. I let it rest for 15-30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
If your oven is well insulated try this recipe!!! I was scared I would ruin an $12 roast but it came out PERFECT! followed recipe verbatim could not be happier with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I couldn't believe how easy this was and how great the meat tasted. So tender and cooked perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Perfection! I've been cooking for more than 40 years and this is the first time I've had an eye of round roast turn out perfectly! Believe me I've tried every method. But this is great! I followed the directions to a T, setting the timer to turn the oven off at exactly the right time (7 minutes per pound). I didn't peak. And what did I get? Fancy steakhouse quality beef! You would have bet it was prime rib! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It comes out just like on the picture! Mine was done well. The onlything is that after 2,5 h in the oven it came out to be warm so it lost some flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States