High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have made this recipe repeatedly with many weights of eye of round with success everytime. Has anyone tried it on other cuts such as a Baron?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I believe this recipe was a bit too simplistic. My 7 pound USDA CHOICE roast turned out a bit too well done for our liking (which also made it less tender than it should have been.) This would have been avoidable if I had, had a thermometer with a cord that I could read outside of the oven. Unfortunately, this method does not allow you to use a standard thermometer until the time is up. I dutifully kept the door shut with just a hope and prayer. I highly recommend people to make a purchase of the corded type thermometer if using this method. Ovens vary, (I am starting to think my oven runs hotter than it registers.) thicknesses of roasts vary,(mine was a long slender roast) and even the marbling of the meats vary and affect cooking time. If you like your roasts rare to medium rare, you will want to know the temp of the meat. All in all, I can't complain. I'm not saying this is a bad recipe or that my roast was total flop. It was quite good, if you like your meat medium to medium WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have cooked a lot of Roast Beef. I wish I would have found this recipe years ago. Thanks so much for sharing it. It will be my go-to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
THE BEST EYE OF ROUND ROAST EVER! I HAVE RUINED SO MANY OF THESE ROAST'S OVER THE YEARS, DRY AND TOUGH. THIS WAS THE EASIEST AND BEST RECIPE EVER! JUICY, TENDER, EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I had a 4 lb eye of the round with NO fat on it. So beyond that fact, I also have a gas oven which, while not that old, is probably not that great in quality. So I took the cook at 200 route for 20 min/lb out of pure fear. Since every variation called for not opening the oven at all during that no heat/low heat period, I put a sign on the oven stating "DO NOT OPEN". My younger brother apparently can't read well and opened it for about 2 seconds. The roast turned out great (considering there was no fat). But I guess I'll have to re-do this again to see if that minor change in heat made a difference or not :) Agree on on super thin slicing and the need for some sort of side dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I cooked a nine pound eye of round roast for Christmas dinner using this technique and it worked out famously! I was skeptical about turning my oven off so I decided to set my oven to 200 degrees F. Actually, I could have turned my oven off because the roast ended up being medium-well done even though I took the roast out of the oven 45 minutes early. The roast was juicy and my picky son ate it up. FYI I did use a meat thermometer to monitor the internal temperature of the roast. Great recipe! I will be using it again! Thanks, Vanessa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for our Christmas dinner. It was fabulous and I will definitely make it again. The family loved it. Before putting it in the oven I coated it with olive oil, and used salt, coarsely ground pepper, and garlic powder to season it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It turned out great! I added several additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I cooked according to directions, and It was excellent. Saved myself at least 40 dollars, by buying eye of round instead of prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was excellent! The internal temperature of the meat at the end of the 2 1/2 hours was only 128 degrees (rather than the expected 145) but the meat was cooked perfectly. I don't know if the roast cooled to a lower temp than stated, or maybe it's our meat thermometer. We were surprised it was so good! The meat was very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States