High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Very good recipe! It was easy and worked well. I had a 2.3 lb. eye of round so I cooked it for 14 min. then turned off the oven for 2.5 hours. My wife got impatient, so I took it out with 15 minutes left. It was exactly 145 degrees, which is medium rare. I am going to get an oven safe meat thermometer so I can track the temp next time. I like to get it to around 125 or 130, then take it out to rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I should have known better. When I saw that the end temperature was going to be one hundred and 45°, I should've known better. To me the way I like my beef which is medium-rare is about one hundred and 25° because the temperature will continue to increase while resting. 145° isn't anybody's idea of rare except for the department of agriculture who want to make sure we don't die from some disease which is not not present anymore in the US. Especially if you start off with an oven temperature of 500°, 140° is ruined. I pulled mine an hour and a half early, and it was still ruined. By that time it was already across 140°
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I was skeptical! I tried this recipe today and it was AWESOME! I am amazed. Loved it!! Most tender, flavorful medium rare roast beef I have ever had. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I highly recommend brushing the roast with Gravy Master and using Snider's Prime Rib & Roast Seasoning along with Garlic Powder to season the roast prior to cooking. Absolutely delicious; both my husband and I can't wait to eat the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this recipe,for my Saint Patrick's dinner. I had a 5 lb roast, I just added another 10 minutes to the suggested cooking time, as I did not want it too rare.It turned out perfect,and very tender. My guests loved it. I would rate it as excellent. It will be the only way I will cook a roast from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Great Recipe!! I use it more of as a guideline i heat my oven to 550 instead of 500 and i season with Lawrys season salt, garlic powder and black pepper then put it in a ziplock over night. Other then that i follow the directions as stated. Made it several times and always have trouble getting it to the dinner table without everyone eating it up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times and I cannot believe I've never rated it. The 5 stars says it all! Although I'm a very good cook, I must admit I'm not very good at preparing beef, especially roasts. Somehow I always seemed to dry them out...but, no more! We like our beef medium well, slightly pink, no blood. So, I made this on 500-degrees for 9 min./pound. Then reduced the temperature to 475 for 5 min., turned the oven off and left it for 2 1/2 hours as directed. I made several slits in the roast and inserted pieces of garlic clove. Because we wanted a crusty, crust on the roast, I crushed spices in my trusty wooden mortar and pestle I was given by a dear friend while vacationing in Brazil. Onion powder, garlic powder, kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper, a pinch of thyme and dried rosemary leaves. Oh, I also drizzled some olive oil over the roast. The result was wonderful! After thinly slicing the meat and dipping it into the pan drippings, we had it on crusty bread with Creamy Horseradish Garlic Spread from this site (also a wonderful recipe). Served with sweet potato fries made in the oven and a pasta side dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
One of the oddest recipes and I had my doubts... But this is the ONLY way I will cook eye of round from now on! Even my picky eatter ate it. She even came back for more! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very easy to make. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States