High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Chrissy Alfano LaBrecque
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I had a 3.75 pound roast and after reading many reviews, here is what I did: Took the roast out of the fridge and let it sit for about 45 minutes. Preheated the oven to 500 and kept it there for 20 minutes to really heat up before putting in the roast and turning the temp to 475. Cooked at 475 for 24 minutes (a little less than 7 minutes a pound because we like it more on the pink side). At this point in the original recipe, you shut the oven off, but since I have a gas oven that doesn't hold heat very well, after reading other reviews I turned the heat to 175 rather than shutting it off completely. I went with the 20 minutes per pound suggestion, so was planning to keep it in for 75 minutes. At the end of the 75 minutes my meat thermometer read 120. I was hoping to be a little closer to 130, so I turned up the heat to 200 and left it in the oven another 15 minutes. At this point, it read just under 130, and since we like it really pink, I took it out. Let it rest for 15 minutes and then sliced it thin. It was pretty much a perfect medium rare all the way through. Tender, juicy, and delicious. My whole family loved it (a rare occurrence in my house!). Next time I think I'll go down to 200 degrees (instead of 175) right after the initial high-temp portion. I think the 20 minutes a pound timing will be perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
My husband and 2 year old loved this. I followed the recipe, except for adding some onion powder and paprika to the rub. Since I had a 2 pound roast I cooked it 14 minutes. Turned out perfect. I've been a vegetarian for 15 years and still am, but my son has multiple food allergies, including milk, eggs and legumes, so I've just started learning to cook meat for him. The ease of this recipe was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
DON'T BE AFRAID!! A FUN Experiment that worked out very well This recipe proved to be a very tasty & worry-free way to cook a roast. I bought an eye round piece--2.92 lbs exactly. I preheated my electric, small, self-cleaning wall oven to 500 degrees. While waiting for the oven to heat up, I rubbed the roast in EVOO. Then I poked it in several places, with a steak knife, to make pockets, pushing sliced garlic into those pockets. I sprinkled the entire piece w/ a generous amt of McCormicks Hamburger Seasoning (the 1 in the plastic shaker), sea salt, table pepper, & garlic powder. Then I put the meat into a square, ceramic roasting pan, made by Portmeirion--fatty side up. (Make sure the pan is placed in the exact middle of ur oven.) I turned down the temp to 475. I cooked it for 22 minutes. Then I turned the oven off & locked it. I intended to leave it in the hot oven, in the off position, for the called-for additional 2 1/2 hours, but decided to open the oven at the 2-hour mark--30 min early. I was glad I did--it was 9pm on a week nite--my family of 4 men were starving, so I was dying to see if it was ready before the expected 2 1/2 hour wait. The meat thermom registered 145. We used an electric knife to cut it into 1/2" slices. The meat was salty & crispy on the outside, beige (done) on the outer circle, & a nice circle of light pink in the center & throughout. And OMG, the aroma while it was roasting! A friend stopped in, & said "Oh Man, it smells delicious in here."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Came out perfect! Just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Milano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've done this recipe 6 times and always a crowd pleaser. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Dukic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I tried a two pound roast and at the end of the time the temp was only 105. I don't think I did anything wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
The only way I cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This worked out just great on my 3.5 lb eye of the round roast. I was skeptical, but needn't have been. Delicious! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is easy and my whole family raved about it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
perfect! making this again tonight. 20 minutes per pound with oven off was on point. thank you for your review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States