High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I did this with a 3.5 pound roast and it was great. Going to try it with a 7 pound one tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark Lyndon Bradford
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I cooked it in an electric stove. For the remaining 2 hours I kept the temperature at 170 as one in my family doesn't like pink meat. It still was pink but delicious. I cooked it without vegetables at first. To solve the pink, I put it in a cast iron Dutch oven, cut up 2 onions and some carrots, put it back in a 350 degree oven for an hour. It was perfectly done, juicy, and tender. I'd only ever cooked with chuck roasts, but after this experience, I'd definitely cook thus again. I seasoned it with Tony's as I'm from Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I had a two pound eye of round. I tried the above recipe and when I pulled out the roast it was 112.7 degrees. So I started the oven at 375 degrees, put a temp probe in the roast and set it for 130. I like medium rare. It took about an additional 20-25 minutes to get to 130. I rested it for 10 minutes as I was hungry. I cut the first two slices and it was great looking and was tender as advertised. So if you have problems with the roast not being up to 145 degrees, which is way over medium rare, then you can continue to cook it till the degrees you like. No problem. This recipe to me is 4 3/4. Luckly I don;t like 145 temp for roasts, so it worked out great from me to get it to 130 as I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Lerner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This recipe takes a cheap cut of meat and makes it into a pretty spectacular dinner! My oven doesn't hold heat too well, so I have to intermittently switch between turning the heat off and turning it on to low a few times, but the meat comes out medium rare pretty much every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
delicious but it cooked much faster than planned. I removed the roast after 1.5 hours and it was medium well, we would have liked it closer to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
We rub ours with beef base, McCormick brand is what we usually have, and make sure to roast it with the fat side up. We let it cool for a bit and then thin slice it (think sandwich meat thin) and eat it for a few days! Love it! I wouldn't thick slice or chunk it up, it would be too tough I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
oh manoman this is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Flesher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
One suggestion:if the roast isn't already tied, use butcher's twine and tie it at 2 1/2 to 3 inch intervals. This will give the roast a more even profile, and a more even result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Just made this for the first time. It was great. Perfectly done on the inside. My roast was the narrower end of a 6-lb. roast. I made sure that it was still cold when I put it in the oven and adjusted the cook time slightly because it was just under 3 lbs. The roast was perfect medium rare (just like the picture above) and very juicy. We sliced it thin. It wasn't tenderloin tender, but it was not tough by any means. And the juiciness made up for any chewiness. I'll def make this recipe again. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Awesome recipe. Followed directions and it was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States