High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was fab! I was not so sure at first because I have a gas oven and the door cooled off fast. The roast was moist and tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Wow, AWESOME!! I cooked a 2 3/4lb roast for 20, then did the closed-door as written. I had a thermometer in it, and it only went up to 136, so was worried. But it was cooked PERFECT when we cut it, rare without being too rare. Lots of juice. I did make a 1 clove minced garlic/salt/pepper/1tsp olive oil paste & smeared all over prior to roasting-YUM. This is definitely the way I will cook eye round from now on. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I love this recipe! I have made it several times with a 6-7 pound roast. I usually usually do a little bit less than 7 minutes a pound as we like it a bit rare. It has worked every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Pleasantly surprised!!! I used the gravy master tip from previous reviewer. Definitely added some flavor and gorgeous color. When it was getting close to the time to take out roast, I put in a meat thermometer (should have done that to begin with). It was below 140 (lowest reading on my thermometer). I started to panic and turned oven on. It overcooked. BUT STILL... it was juicy and tender. I CANNOT believe an eye of round was that juicy and tender. Oh also, I baked potatoes in foil for the same time I cooked the roast. They came out great! My only reason for 4 stars... flavor. The meat lacked flavor. The end pieces with the gravy master were good. The rest didn't have much taste - great texture but no taste. I might try stuffing in some garlic next time or making a gravy or au jus to go with it (although I had almost no juices). Don't forget to let the meat rest. I cut mine a little too early. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used this recipe for my sister-inlaws wedding that i did all the cooking. I followed this to the T and now i will not cook a roast any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Love this recipe, use it all the time. I like using prime rib seasoning,. Great leftover cold beef sandwhich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made this last night and it was amazing! I only had a 2.3 lb roast so I cooked it at 475 for 15 minutes and then turned the oven down to warm for the 2 hours. It was the most moist roast I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Love this recipe. Easy, inexpensive & my children love it. Medium rare perfect, tender & tasty. Sliced really thin it is also great for sandwich meat after. Didn't believe it at first,,,,,,thought I was taking a big chance. Was glad to be wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cubbie1908
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter. Using a 2.24 # eye of round roast (electric oven) it came out great. I cooked it for 18 minutes and left it for 2 hours. I used garlic shoved in three slits I made, fresh cracked peppercorn, kosher salt, and 1/2 of a beef bouillon cube crushed. I had sliced it as thin as I could and the meat was tender, tasty, and warm. It was medium (done) and delicious. To reheat, I plan on making a beef stock and using the boiling stick, I will toss the slices in and let heat for a few minutes. It's important that the slices are thin. I'm not a fan of leftovers often but I'm actually excited about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This came out great. My roast was a little smaller, so I only cooked at 475 for 15 minutes and then left it in the oven for 1 hr 45 minutes. It was medium when it came out. I personally like it a little more rare, but the flavor was fantastic and there was no fuss with thermometers, etc. I do wish I had put the fat side up as another reviewer has suggested. I got a smaller roast because I am only cooking for myself and hubby, so don't be afraid of this if you want to use a smaller roast. I used a 2.10 pound roast, and there was plenty for both of us and I sliced the rest for sandwiches during the week. Eye of round is a very lean roast, so you do need to slice it very thinly. It is not super brown on the outside, but I don't consider that an issue. The flavor, just seasoned with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, was perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lboone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States