High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
So great!!! such an untraditional way to cook rb but came out amazing with tons of juices & moist!! I'm now a fan!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
The meat was raw because I have an older oven that did not retain heat. Will try this again turning oven down low instead of off. It was juicy but I am now awaiting a very late dinner as I have to cook meat and other dishes are getting cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Having ruined many roasts, I don't trust any method, but this ensures a tender roast nonetheless. There are variables to consider: e.g. is your roast still cold from a thaw? is it larger or smaller? Rack placement in oven? So far, the best rendition of this is using a probe thermometer and not letting it rise above 130-135 degrees as it will continue to cook when it is resting and usually reaches a rare-medium-rare temp. 500 is too high to start and smokes out my oven if it isn't spotlessly clean. 450-475 is a good starting temp. Also, fresh herbs and especially garlic will burn, so be careful when choosing your crusting herbs. The best coarse of action is KEEP AN "EYE" on an eye roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I made this recipe with a rump roast and even tried a chuck roast. Both were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I put a simple dry rub on the roast first, coarse salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders. Followed the rest of the instructions and WOW, how simple, and tender, tasted like prime rib and didn't even need a knife to cut it. Everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I never thought my roast would be good using this recipe but it was fantastic! I followed the directions to calculate cooking times using a 5 lb roast and it was done perfectly. The center was a dark pink and it was very tender. I have used this recipe 8 or 9 times now and never had a bad meal. I will not cook a roast any other way. Thanks so much for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent! This has become a family favorite and my go-to roast recipe. Have made this many times now and it is wonderful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was amazing!! It came out just like the picture and so very tender!! Added more of my own seasoning but followed exactly as written. Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
OK, this is what happens when one screws up on a simple recipe! I misjudged the weight of the meat and cooked it up front for a lesser amount of time (I guessed it at 2 lbs, husband says it was 7 pounds). I followed the recipe to a "T". Guess what, it still turned out wonderful! I just sliced it extra thin in case it would be tough. It was tender and succulent. This recipe is a keeper!! Not many recipes will tolerate someone to screw up and allow the outcome to still be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I followed the directions with a 3lb roast and it didnt make it to the 145. After 2 1/2 hours of waiting it only reached a temp of 115. I never opened the oven and have no idea as to why this didnt work. I was very disappointed in the recipe since my entire meal was ready except for the meat. I wont use this again. OH and by the way, I have a brand new gas oven with no insulation problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States