High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I've made this about 4 times and each time it's a crowd pleaser. It's a fool proof way to cook an eye of round. The trick afterwards is to slice it ultra thin, I have good success with my electric knife or a fishing filet knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I will never cook a roast any other way! I followed the directions exactly and my roast turned out superb! I do believe its best to have a high quality choice of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is a simple recipe. I haven't found a better one yet. I have made this roast 3-4 times now (following the instructions exactly) and I haven't had any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The whole family loved this recipe! It really is the best recipe for eye round. The meat texture is the best of any eye round recipe that I have tried...and there is a nice selection of done ness...meaning the ends get nice and well done and the inside is a perfect medium for my daughter who doesn't do well done!! All I do is salt pepper and garlic powder on the outside...and it makes a great gravy also...all in all a great find!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I tried this tonight with a 2.82 lb eye round roast. I just took it out of the oven after 2.5 hours. I cooked it precisely as the directions stated, adjusting the time in the 475 degree oven for the ever-so-slightly reduced weight. The temp showed as 120. Very difficult to correct that with passive heat I've just let dissipate in pulling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing. The house didn't get all heated up and the roast beef was the most tender and juicy and done to perfection. I did it for a little less time to make sure it was medium and it was just delicious. Made the best birthday dinner for my other half. Go figure, turn the oven off. I also did a separate pan with roasted potatoes and put it in the same time & they were perfect. I did add olive oil to those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have tried this kind of roast cooking for prime rib only in the past. This method worked fantastic for this lower cost cut of beef. I can't say it was "tender", but cut the slices thin, and it is fabulous for flavour. For 1/4 the price of high end cuts, it's more than a great substitute, & don't be shy to serve to company! . Cooked to perfection med rare according to recipe! Leftovers are going to be great sandwiches or hot beefI I put the raw roast in a zip-loc with seasoning of S&P, Lawrey's, onion flakes & Worcestershire sauce, marinating for a few hours in advance, & I wouldn't be shy to over-season more to your taste preferences. It's all a matter of taste. Definitely will keep this in the arsenal of my favourites and it won't kill the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Delicious! The success of this cooking method will depend upon how accurate the temperature of your oven is and how well your oven retains heat. Adjust cooking time +/- according to your individual oven. If you have a very old oven that is not well insulated, this recipe may not work for you, as heat retention/residual heat is IMPORTANT to the success of this recipe. In addition, the meat MUST be completely THAWED and at ROOM TEMPERATURE, inside and out, before going in the oven. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now. It is AMAZING. Roll the roast very lightly in olive oil then load it up with seasoning salt--a lot of it cooks off, so you'll have it right just when you think you're starting to overdo it. Let your oven heat for an extra twenty minutes once it has 'preheated.' Seven minutes per pound first, then fifty minutes per pound once you turn off the oven. One you have taken it out, let it rest for ten minutes before cutting or serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. It was perfect! I will never cook eye of round any other way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States