High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love this method!! I generally use the McCormick Steak seasoning and it comes out fantastic, even though some of the spices get a little over done. I have to let mine cook a little longer before I turn my oven off because it does not seem to hold the heat well enough to cook it through enough for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Dickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Love the recipe. Stab holes in the roast and stuff in Garlic pieces. The house smells like garlic and it cooks down nicely and is very edible part of the roast. Also, you can make a Roux with flour and the drippings and combine that with Campbell's Beef Consomme and water to make a very nice Au Jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight after reading a number of reviews and loved it! Taking the advice of several reviewers, I left the fat on, rinsed and dried the meat, brushed the exterior with Gravy Master, then seasoned with salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder. Baked uncovered fat side up on a grill in a roasting pan at 500 degrees for 24 minutes for a three pound eye roast, then turned oven off for 2-1/2 hours. When I opened the oven afterward, it was cold (as mentioned by another reviewer, I don't think gas ovens hold the heat as well). I made a judgment call and put it back in the oven for 20 minutes on 350 degrees. Took out and let rest for another 20 minutes, then sliced to a beautiful assortment of medium and medium well done (more pink slices than red). I and my guests enjoyed it tremendously, taking seconds as well. I cannot believe the ease of cooking this way. I added water to a small amount of drippings to make a small amount of gravy. Can't wait to make it again now that I know it really works. The finished product looked like a professional chef cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I tried this with a 2.7 lb roast, an electric oven and a lot of skepticism. The meat did turn out incredibly tender and juicy for a eye of round. I cut an onion into large chunks and put it under the grid supporting the roast, with some home grown garlic. The fat drippings made the onions heavenly. The roast itself I rubbed with fresh thyme, cracked black pepper, celery seeds and then brushed it with peanut oil. No salt as it would draw moisture out of the roast. Additionally, I attempted to bake potatoes alongside the roast. The ones I used were small, about 3 inches in diameter. You will be pleased to know they turned out perfect. The reason I only put 4 stars is that, judging by my experience, the timing of the recipe is not flawless. When I decided to checked on it after 2h, The meat was cooked nice and pink, but the temperature had went back down to 120°F - it wouldn't have cooked more, only kept cooling down. By the time I had it sliced (1/8" thin with a slicer,) it was only luke warm. I had to layer it on a cookie sheet and shock it a bit in the oven in order to serve a warm meal to my friends. I'll definitely do this again, but next time I'll cook it 8 minutes / pound rather than 7, and then leave it only 1h30 rather than 2h30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Very good recipe! It was easy and worked well. I had a 2.3 lb. eye of round so I cooked it for 14 min. then turned off the oven for 2.5 hours. My wife got impatient, so I took it out with 15 minutes left. It was exactly 145 degrees, which is medium rare. I am going to get an oven safe meat thermometer so I can track the temp next time. I like to get it to around 125 or 130, then take it out to rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Palace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I should have known better. When I saw that the end temperature was going to be one hundred and 45°, I should've known better. To me the way I like my beef which is medium-rare is about one hundred and 25° because the temperature will continue to increase while resting. 145° isn't anybody's idea of rare except for the department of agriculture who want to make sure we don't die from some disease which is not not present anymore in the US. Especially if you start off with an oven temperature of 500°, 140° is ruined. I pulled mine an hour and a half early, and it was still ruined. By that time it was already across 140°
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I was skeptical! I tried this recipe today and it was AWESOME! I am amazed. Loved it!! Most tender, flavorful medium rare roast beef I have ever had. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I highly recommend brushing the roast with Gravy Master and using Snider's Prime Rib & Roast Seasoning along with Garlic Powder to season the roast prior to cooking. Absolutely delicious; both my husband and I can't wait to eat the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this recipe,for my Saint Patrick's dinner. I had a 5 lb roast, I just added another 10 minutes to the suggested cooking time, as I did not want it too rare.It turned out perfect,and very tender. My guests loved it. I would rate it as excellent. It will be the only way I will cook a roast from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Great Recipe!! I use it more of as a guideline i heat my oven to 550 instead of 500 and i season with Lawrys season salt, garlic powder and black pepper then put it in a ziplock over night. Other then that i follow the directions as stated. Made it several times and always have trouble getting it to the dinner table without everyone eating it up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States