High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing. The house didn't get all heated up and the roast beef was the most tender and juicy and done to perfection. I did it for a little less time to make sure it was medium and it was just delicious. Made the best birthday dinner for my other half. Go figure, turn the oven off. I also did a separate pan with roasted potatoes and put it in the same time & they were perfect. I did add olive oil to those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have tried this kind of roast cooking for prime rib only in the past. This method worked fantastic for this lower cost cut of beef. I can't say it was "tender", but cut the slices thin, and it is fabulous for flavour. For 1/4 the price of high end cuts, it's more than a great substitute, & don't be shy to serve to company! . Cooked to perfection med rare according to recipe! Leftovers are going to be great sandwiches or hot beefI I put the raw roast in a zip-loc with seasoning of S&P, Lawrey's, onion flakes & Worcestershire sauce, marinating for a few hours in advance, & I wouldn't be shy to over-season more to your taste preferences. It's all a matter of taste. Definitely will keep this in the arsenal of my favourites and it won't kill the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Delicious! The success of this cooking method will depend upon how accurate the temperature of your oven is and how well your oven retains heat. Adjust cooking time +/- according to your individual oven. If you have a very old oven that is not well insulated, this recipe may not work for you, as heat retention/residual heat is IMPORTANT to the success of this recipe. In addition, the meat MUST be completely THAWED and at ROOM TEMPERATURE, inside and out, before going in the oven. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now. It is AMAZING. Roll the roast very lightly in olive oil then load it up with seasoning salt--a lot of it cooks off, so you'll have it right just when you think you're starting to overdo it. Let your oven heat for an extra twenty minutes once it has 'preheated.' Seven minutes per pound first, then fifty minutes per pound once you turn off the oven. One you have taken it out, let it rest for ten minutes before cutting or serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. It was perfect! I will never cook eye of round any other way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Be sure to read notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We have an older gas oven, so, in light of the difficulties some reviewers had keeping their gas ovens from cooling down too quickly, I thought of ways to retain heat. I used my trusty cast-iron skillet instead of a roasting pan. I put a "rack" of potato wedges, onion wedges & carrots in the skillet. I placed a "poor man's pizza stone"(6 unglazed terra cotta tiles) on the oven racks. And, after the initial 18 minutes for our 2.6 lb. eye of round, I turned the oven to its lowest setting, 170 degrees, and left it alone for 2 1/2 hours, not expecting anything like the rave reviews I read. It is the juiciest, most tender roast ever! Crusty & well-seasoned on the outside, moist & just-right-pink on the inside. My husband sliced very thin slices, and we had it on challah rolls (it's a chilly Passover/Easter week). Thank you, Lyn! Your technique is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Beef was very tough, tasteless and needed another 30 minutes cooking time. I used a 2 lb. roast and followed the recipe to the letter. Where did I go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
good flavor but not tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this MANY times and it comes out perfect each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States