High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I couldn't believe how easy this was and how great the meat tasted. So tender and cooked perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Perfection! I've been cooking for more than 40 years and this is the first time I've had an eye of round roast turn out perfectly! Believe me I've tried every method. But this is great! I followed the directions to a T, setting the timer to turn the oven off at exactly the right time (7 minutes per pound). I didn't peak. And what did I get? Fancy steakhouse quality beef! You would have bet it was prime rib! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It comes out just like on the picture! Mine was done well. The onlything is that after 2,5 h in the oven it came out to be warm so it lost some flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It could not be easier. It could not be better. Did a 4.3lb roast, came out perfect - the leftovers are great too. The gravy - OMG good - (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chef-johns-mushroom-gravy/). For a while I was in my mom & dad's kitchen - not a better place to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I wish I would have spent more time reading the reviews, because my gas oven was ice cold and my roast was basically raw. I sliced it up, poured melted butter over it and threw it back in to heat it up again. Disappointing, since my whole meal was ready but my roast wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
It worked! I had my older son take the meat out of the oven 1 hour before. I could't make it home in time so I had him turn the oven to 500, then rub a little olive oil on it and generously seasoned it with Montreal steak seasoning. I had him keep it at 500 for the first section, (because we were running a little short on time). Then turned it off. Only did a total of 2 hours due to time restriction. During the last 20 min we turned it on to 250, just to make sure it was warm. We let it rest. The meat was tender, delicious and cooked perfectly! This is a keeper. The left over meat makes delicious sandwiches! PS We have a gas oven and it turned out great the way I did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This recipe is absolutely spot on with perfect results every time. I heavily crust with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy Alfano LaBrecque
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I had a 3.75 pound roast and after reading many reviews, here is what I did: Took the roast out of the fridge and let it sit for about 45 minutes. Preheated the oven to 500 and kept it there for 20 minutes to really heat up before putting in the roast and turning the temp to 475. Cooked at 475 for 24 minutes (a little less than 7 minutes a pound because we like it more on the pink side). At this point in the original recipe, you shut the oven off, but since I have a gas oven that doesn't hold heat very well, after reading other reviews I turned the heat to 175 rather than shutting it off completely. I went with the 20 minutes per pound suggestion, so was planning to keep it in for 75 minutes. At the end of the 75 minutes my meat thermometer read 120. I was hoping to be a little closer to 130, so I turned up the heat to 200 and left it in the oven another 15 minutes. At this point, it read just under 130, and since we like it really pink, I took it out. Let it rest for 15 minutes and then sliced it thin. It was pretty much a perfect medium rare all the way through. Tender, juicy, and delicious. My whole family loved it (a rare occurrence in my house!). Next time I think I'll go down to 200 degrees (instead of 175) right after the initial high-temp portion. I think the 20 minutes a pound timing will be perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
My husband and 2 year old loved this. I followed the recipe, except for adding some onion powder and paprika to the rub. Since I had a 2 pound roast I cooked it 14 minutes. Turned out perfect. I've been a vegetarian for 15 years and still am, but my son has multiple food allergies, including milk, eggs and legumes, so I've just started learning to cook meat for him. The ease of this recipe was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
DON'T BE AFRAID!! A FUN Experiment that worked out very well This recipe proved to be a very tasty & worry-free way to cook a roast. I bought an eye round piece--2.92 lbs exactly. I preheated my electric, small, self-cleaning wall oven to 500 degrees. While waiting for the oven to heat up, I rubbed the roast in EVOO. Then I poked it in several places, with a steak knife, to make pockets, pushing sliced garlic into those pockets. I sprinkled the entire piece w/ a generous amt of McCormicks Hamburger Seasoning (the 1 in the plastic shaker), sea salt, table pepper, & garlic powder. Then I put the meat into a square, ceramic roasting pan, made by Portmeirion--fatty side up. (Make sure the pan is placed in the exact middle of ur oven.) I turned down the temp to 475. I cooked it for 22 minutes. Then I turned the oven off & locked it. I intended to leave it in the hot oven, in the off position, for the called-for additional 2 1/2 hours, but decided to open the oven at the 2-hour mark--30 min early. I was glad I did--it was 9pm on a week nite--my family of 4 men were starving, so I was dying to see if it was ready before the expected 2 1/2 hour wait. The meat thermom registered 145. We used an electric knife to cut it into 1/2" slices. The meat was salty & crispy on the outside, beige (done) on the outer circle, & a nice circle of light pink in the center & throughout. And OMG, the aroma while it was roasting! A friend stopped in, & said "Oh Man, it smells delicious in here."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States