High Rise Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious rolls! I followed directions except used oil (my flakes were butter flavored). I rolled them crescent roll style-no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These were easy and turned out absolutely perfect, the only thing I did was bake them for only 20 minutes will try 18 the next time as my oven is old, the edges were a little browner then I like them, I was doing a "trial run" trying to find rolls to make for fathers day and this is it!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water, buttermilk (that I warmed with the water) and sugar for ten minutes, melted butter, egg and all the dry ingredients. I did need just a touch more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more, I had a little bit of an issue with the bread hook actually wanting to knead the bread dough in the mixer bowl. It kept wanting to kick the dough out! I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. I did get 12 large rolls, not nine out of this recipe. 400* for 15 minutes was absolutely perfect. HUGE dinner rolls that were a little different texture and flavor-wise from your typical bread rolls. That's not a bad thing, it's just different. Next time I make these, I might use another egg, just to see if that will get it to where it needs to be for me. It's almost there, flavor-wise. It's got the flavor of a croissant. I think it would be perfect with another egg. NOTE: Watch these in the oven, they do have quick minute or two where they could burn. I almost had that happen but I caught it just in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I love these rolls. I have made them three times now and they just keep getting better. Light and fluffy and huge. I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand so this is what I used. I used two cups all purpose flour and one cup bread flour. Warm milk instead of buttermilk and Idaho loaded instant potatoes. They were wonderful. Please give this recipe a try you won't be disappointed. Either way as written or little changes this is a terrific recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Excellent roll recipe. they were very easy and so tasty. the only change I may make the next time is to skip the additional salt as the potato flakes I used had salt already added and the additional salt made them just a bit too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these for New Year's Eve to serve with crockpot soups that my guests brought. I changed the recipe by using dry milk, not buttermilk, softening the yeast in all of the required water and adding the powdered milk with the flour. I also used canned dry eggs by the same method: the powdered eggs go in with a cup of flour, and the necessary liquid is added as water at the beginning. Then I use my Bosch to knead the large amount of dough. The rolls were fluffier than most rolls and browned beautifully. I will make this recipe often. I quadrupled the recipe and sent dozens home with my guests for New Year's Day sandwiches. The rolls were huge and worked for sandwiches and dinner rolls as well. This is a new standard recipe. I think they will roll out well for cinnamon rolls, too. I complement the chef. My husband said they were a triumph at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Just wonderful. I don't normally like using wholewheat flour in my rolls, but the buttermilk does something amazing making the rolls soft and excellent. We had these with Texas BBQ pulled pork. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These are the best rolls I have ever made. Thanks for the receipe. It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are delicious!! I followed the recipe exact except made 12 rolls instead of 9 and they were still quite big but so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Good rolls. I cut the sugar by a tablespoon and didn't use all the flour. A larger pan than an 8x8 is definitely needed. I started with that then tried a 13x9 but ended up using a larger pan again. I only made 9 rolls and they were large but that was ideal as I wanted to use them for barbecued beef sandwiches. Thankyou tullius these were just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States