High Five Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
this recipe is remarkably similar to Mennonite Paska bread that I make every year for easter! We also ice our bread. Many use both lemon and orange flavouring/ zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These were amazing. I bake at least 3 times a week and my children said these were as good as my cinnamon rolls. The dough is light and fluffy. I wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcfish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
OMG!! You've got to make these!! I wouldn't change a thing, it's a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was good but I felt like there was too much orange extract and too much butter. The recipe was very tasty when they came out of the oven but the left over rolls dried out very quickly. I loved the fact that I could make these ahead, I just wish they used less of the unhealthy ingredients. While this is very good for a rare treat, I will try other variations so that I can enjoy it more than once a year. Also, i'm not really sure what the vanilla pudding adds to the bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These were awesome. More than awesome. I didn't have any orange extract, so I used two oranges, zested them and juiced them into a saucepan, and let it reduce over super low heat. I then used it in place of the extract. I don't think the orange flavor was as intense as it would have been with the extract, but it was amazing, none the less. I wasn't sure how to bake them, since it looked like everyone baked them in a 9 by 13, but the instructions said to bake them on a baking sheet. I ended up using a jelly roll pan and baking them as directed, and they came out perfect. I used a different cream cheese frosting...1 pkg cream cheese, 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 cup whipping cream, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Whip the cream cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla in one bowl, and the whipping cream in another. Fold together. Awesome. I should have used some orange in there as suggested, because it would have really amped up the flavor, but oh well. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is High Five Star Awesome! The only difference I did not do the overnight method, I just allowed them to raise and bake the same day. So delicious,and they rose beautifully, the dough was pliable and easy to work with too! Everyone wanted this recipe after eating them, true testament for an exceptional recipe! We loved these rolls!Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These are amazing! They are so soft and just melt in your mouth. They rose beautifully in the refrigerator overnight and I haven't been able to find any other breakfast (or cinnamon) roll recipe that rises so well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Wowza! These are amazing. I love the Rhodes frozen orange rolls, and these are WAY better. I followed the recipe as written, except I baked them the same day. The dough is very easy to work with and they come together quickly (except the waiting for the rising of dough but I was just eager to try them!). Thank you for sharing this super recipe! I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jordan, Montana, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have had this one in my recipe box FOREVER!!! I finally made it and boy have I been missing out! That frosting is amazing and the rolls are super soft, I'm guessing from the pudding. Yummy Rae, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So great. I did use about 6.5 cups of flour total. I also didn't have bread flour, so I used regular flour and about 8 tsps of vital wheat gluten. I also used about 4 cups of confectioner's sugar in the frosting. It tasted too much like butter and not sweet enough. I didn't have enough orange zest and I could definitely tell it was missing. They were good, but I think with the stated amount of zest, they would be perfect. I had to bake mine for more like 33 min. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States