High Five Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I used this as a base recipe for cinnamon buns I substituted the orange juice with eggnog and the orange extract with vanilla I filled it with pecans cinnamon butter and brown sugar and made a cream cheese icing and I only had all purpose flour. I bake a lot to release stress but I don't eat the sweets. My family was saying they were the best cinnamon buns they ever ate so I had to taste them! OMG they were amazing! And very easy to make seeing as it was my first time making cinnamon buns. I'm going to make the orange ones next weekend thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I spent A LOT of $ to try this recipe. Bought orange extract, pudding mix, bread flour, used 3 sticks of butter... Groceries aren't cheap these days! I had read all of the positive reviews and figured they would be great. In my opinion they weren't. They had no flavor. I understand I'm in the minority here but I followed the recipe and instructions exactly and they didn't turn out for me. But Rae - I do LOVE your profile pic :-), the rolls just weren't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
YES, wonderful! Scaled to 12 servings and got 12 1-1/4" wide rolls + 3 oddballs. I did have to knead in close to 1 C extra flour than called for. Used mostly A/P flour (only 1 C bread flour) so that could be why? I cooked down 1 C of OJ to what adjusted version called for. Didn't use quite as much extract as I didn't want it overbearing but I'll stick with amount called for next time. Utilized my K/A mixer for the dough but ended up hand kneading the extra flour in to get it somewhat elastic (8 mins) as I didn't want a crumbly texture. Very soft dough but workable. Filling: I went with brn sugar instead of white. I creamed filling ingredients together versus recipe instructions. My additions - 1/3 C of ground walnuts, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of grnd cardamom and 2 tsp's of the instant pudding. Filling spread on the rolled out dough just fine using a silicone spatula. It's a little tricky to roll dough up into a log but nothing too difficult. I used floss method to 'cut' each roll. Didn't mix icing as written - used same ingredients but less with different proportions for my own palate (not all that butter). I just baked the 3 oddball rolls & even w/out icing...awesome! I froze the other 12 rolls immediately for later. Easy to thaw in the fridge overnight, let rise in a.m. and bake. Thanks much for the recipe. Easy to tweak as well if you want more flavors involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
First of all I want to say, "Thank you so very much, Rae, for creating such a wonderful recipe. Orange rolls are my favorite of all sweet rolls and I am absolutely thrilled to finally have a recipe that I can make at home from scratch. You rock!" I want so very much to give these rolls a 5-star rating but I can't because of the frosting! The cream cheese overpowers the orange flavor that I crave in these rolls. The next time I make these, I will try using only 4oz. of cream cheese in the frosting. The dough is soooo yummy! It is light and fluffy and has just the right amount of sweetness when baked with the sugar, butter, orange zest, and orange extract mixture rolled up inside. In fact, I could eat these rolls all day long without any frosting on them even though I usually choose sweet rolls that have lots of frosting. Without the frosting they definitely get 5 stars from me. My final decision as the recipe is written: 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were delicious! And a hit! So soft and buttery. I added orange peel and triple sec to the icing, and didn't add milk. I also ended up adding ICBINB spead to the icing because I ran out of butter. Can't wait to make again and add some scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, and mimosas to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Rolls were wonderful, but too large. Will make smaller and make just confection sugar frosting with orange extract and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Well, my review is rather mixed. I took these to a baby shower brunch and everyone raved over them so that would be 5 stars. But, though my husband and myself would give the rolls themselves 5 stars, the frosting we both thought was only 2-3 stars. I usually love cream cheese frosting, but I think it was too much competition (flavor-wise) with the orange extract. I will make these again, but will make up a different frosting, maybe more like the frosting on the orange rolls they make at the resort in my hometown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is the best breakfast rolls ever! They work great at high altitudes (have made them in Quito at 10,000 feet), but you must make sure you don't use water too hot on your yeast and you must make sure your yeast isn't expired (2 common problems for unexperienced cooks). The icing is absolutely the best! This is a great treat for the whole family and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I loved these....but you have to have a liking for orange! My husband wasn't too keen on them, but when you make something like a cinnamon roll, they expect it to taste like a cinnamon roll, and these do not (I think they are better!) I omitted the pudding, but added King Arthurs dough enhancer. I mixed them in my bread machine and refrigerated the dough for two days, then made the rolls, they were AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTIWLYNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Possibly because I live at 5500 feet above sea level but my dough didn't rise AT ALL. I used plenty of flour, and kneaded the dough with my bread hook as well as by hand. Maybe keep this in mind if you live at high altitude. disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States