High-Fiber, High-Protein Breakfast Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
not very flavorful but at least the ingredients are better than a south beach meal bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Thanks so much for this recipe--we love it! From the ingredients I was pretty confident it would be a hit, so I doubled it the first time out and baked in a 13x9 glass dish lined with foil as recipe recommends. I baked at 350 for 30 min, then another 10 for the peanut butter topping. Perfect! The changes I made were to use multi grain oatmeal type cereal, not the quick oats; natural peanut butter, no salt, agave nectar instead of sugar, and I used a blend of hemp hearts, milled flax seeds, and chia seeds instead of flax and wheat germ. I just cut them up and put in plastic bags in the fridge so they're easy to grab and go. One Note: don't be afraid of the peanut butter topping--it just cooks into the bars and isn't messy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great recipe! A hit with my daughter....perfect mid-morning snack between classes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I just made this last night. I took advice from some other reviews and set the temperature at 350, used more flaxseed, and used chocolate peanut butter in the mixture. I had one this morning and loved it! I can't wait to make the next batch. Oh and I used raw honey to add a bit more nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These are just great. I didn't have protein powder so I used some dry milk and added a bit more vanilla, also used natural peanut butter throughout. They have just the right sweetness, hold together well and are very satisfying! I'm going to try adding some chopped nuts or dry fruit next time. I also want to try Nutella. Mmmmmm, Nutella...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydney6681

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made these today and my 18 year old son and picky husband really liked these. I followed the suggestions of using 2 bananas and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also used 1/2 cup flax seeds and no wheat germ. I doubled the cinnamon and added a couple table spoons of chia seeds. I also did not add the peanut butter on top because I was afraid they would be messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I'd been looking for a recipe that included most/all of the healthy ingredients listed in this recipe. I couldn't find anything other than granola which usually has oil, syrup, and brown sugar in them. These bars are perfect for me. Really good taste, filling and healthy and just enough natural sweetness from the bananas and honey. I'm sure I'll be making these frequently. Thanks for submitting, SavedByGrace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I make these regularly now and take them for a mid-morning snack at work. One batch I substituted applesauce for banana, and another batch I added a tsp. of cocoa powder. I think the original recipe is the best. Each batch I've used standard rolled oats instead of the quick-cooking oats, and I think the bars have been fine. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Nice, healthy protein bars. These really only make 9 in an 8x8pan. Love my bars moist, so I use extra huge banana's. I use a 50/50 combo of Regular oats and Steel cut. I have used a pre-done Flaxseed mix with dried fruit in it, which I got at Whole Foods. I only use local honey, so that it helps with my allergies. I've doubled the ground cinnamon and tripled the Vanilla extract as I could not find Hemp with Vanilla in it. I'm not a Peanut Butter fan at all, but have found that these protein bars are okay with it. The next time I do a batch I am going to substitute the PB with Apple Butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Yum! Just made these and the family is sampling. They really are tastey and so easy and I always have these ingredients on hand! One exception.....didn't have quick cook oats so used extra thick whole grain rolled oats and the recipe turned out great! I also sprinkled about 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips on when I spread the peanut butter on top. This will be a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States