High-Fiber, High-Protein Breakfast Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Just made these and the bars were really good! I used a 9x9 pan and cut into 8 bars. I didn't have any wheat germ, so I just used flax seed and chia seeds. This is a really flexible recipe and I can experiment with lots of flavors. I can't wait to try more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
My husband really likes these. Good way to get more fiber. I did use mocha cappuccino flavored hazelnut spread on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
just ok. a little bland and dense for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
YUMMY dense and very filling. I loved these bars and felt full from 8:00 - 1:00 in the afternoon. I added more flaxseeds and I use whole flax instead of the ground because I like the nutty flavor it adds. I am making this for the 2nd time and LOVE it for weekday breakfast on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
not very flavorful but at least the ingredients are better than a south beach meal bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Thanks so much for this recipe--we love it! From the ingredients I was pretty confident it would be a hit, so I doubled it the first time out and baked in a 13x9 glass dish lined with foil as recipe recommends. I baked at 350 for 30 min, then another 10 for the peanut butter topping. Perfect! The changes I made were to use multi grain oatmeal type cereal, not the quick oats; natural peanut butter, no salt, agave nectar instead of sugar, and I used a blend of hemp hearts, milled flax seeds, and chia seeds instead of flax and wheat germ. I just cut them up and put in plastic bags in the fridge so they're easy to grab and go. One Note: don't be afraid of the peanut butter topping--it just cooks into the bars and isn't messy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great recipe! A hit with my daughter....perfect mid-morning snack between classes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I just made this last night. I took advice from some other reviews and set the temperature at 350, used more flaxseed, and used chocolate peanut butter in the mixture. I had one this morning and loved it! I can't wait to make the next batch. Oh and I used raw honey to add a bit more nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These are just great. I didn't have protein powder so I used some dry milk and added a bit more vanilla, also used natural peanut butter throughout. They have just the right sweetness, hold together well and are very satisfying! I'm going to try adding some chopped nuts or dry fruit next time. I also want to try Nutella. Mmmmmm, Nutella...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydney6681

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made these today and my 18 year old son and picky husband really liked these. I followed the suggestions of using 2 bananas and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also used 1/2 cup flax seeds and no wheat germ. I doubled the cinnamon and added a couple table spoons of chia seeds. I also did not add the peanut butter on top because I was afraid they would be messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States