High Altitude Meringue for Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. Used it up on the top of a mountain and at sea level. Works great both places. No more weepy meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carroll Witman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I just made this to go on top of a banana pudding, it is great. I followed it exactly except that I made a double batch. I found out after doubling it I did not need to this makes enough for a 9x13 pan. The recipe is easy and for the first time I made great Meringue, I had peaks and all. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My family loves a lemon meringue pie but the next day most of the meringue has fallen or turned weepy. I decided to try this and it was fabulous! 5 star fabulous. Easy to make and firm fluffy peaks of meringue sat on top of my pie. The next night the meringue tasted just as good and still looked fabulous! I'm going to make all my meringues this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I am not a good meringue maker!! I live at 2200 feet and this worked great. This is the first time that it did not shrink and weep. Excellent density and flavor. Thank for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tuolumne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have never had any luck with meringue whether we lived in high altitudes or not. I do live in a fairly hi altitude now so after reading a number of comments and the article in Allrecipes on meringue, I decided on this one, It turned our perfect. It has not shrunk, wept or turned to candy. I am a happy meringuer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Ive made this 3 times and it never failed. Got compliments on it also. Defenitally the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my first time making meringue. People tell me how difficult it is to make, but for me it was pretty easy. Made it for my pastor, for a pastor appreciation dinner because lemon meringue pie is his favorite dessert. His only complaint was that it had to much meringue. Very good easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is the cat's meow!!! Sensational. I tried the Cook's Illustrated version and this one is better. You can't mess this one up. The meringue whips into a nice tall meringue. The meringue on my left-over chocolate cream pie still looked picture-pretty the next day. The only change I made was to add 1/2 teaspoon Cream of Tarter. Not sure if it really made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I live at 9,000 ft. and have always had an issue with meringue, but this recipe worked great! I did microwave for 2:30, then let the cornstarch mixture cool for about 10 minutes, and then added. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Works excellent, good flavor, and had everyone asking about the recipe! Not sure about the non-weeping part tho as they didn't make it past supper :) - Calgary AB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Irricana, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States