High-Altitude Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Fabulous, reliable, can be made with oil instead of butter for those keeping kosher. I have a sea-level recipe that is not nearly as good...planning to try to adapt this one to sea level this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I live at 7500 feet, this bread turns out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipe. It only took 20 minutes to bake. I am sure this is because of my low altitude. Looks and tastes great. I am glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanRenae
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Love this bread, family loves it! Made 4 loaves this weekend, kept one at home, and took 3 to a church potluck. There's not even one slice left. Just a note... I use the leftover egg whites from the separated eggs to brush on the loaf before baking, works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macdoel, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious! I live at 9500ft, this recipe turned out great! I can't stop eating it. Fast and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe uses a ton of eggs compared to other challah recipes, and I love it for that. 45 minutes seems to be the right time for the second rise - one batch I rose for 1 hour 15 minutes and that was too much - it flattened out a little when baking. We live in New Mexico so we have an obligation to put green chiles in literally everything - I put 7 extra-hot chiles diced right into the dough before kneading and it came out unbelievably delicious and the whole house smelled like chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have used this recipe for a couple of weeks and it is wonderful! I live in Colorado, so it helps that you live here also! The only thing I change is how much flower I use, I only use 3 cups. When I use an extra half it gets a little to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We live at 5,280 feet, and this recipe worked perfectly for us! It looked gorgeous, too. We followed the directions exactly, except we braided the bread with 5 strands, and we sprinkled sesame seeds on top after the egg wash but before popping it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merlion
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Works great although I'm not sure it needs that much yeast. I used a mixture of WW flour, AP flour and bread flour. Also, there is enough to make 2 smaller loaves with this too. As this is my first challah, I'm not sure what is good and what isn't. This is overall a good bread for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States