High-Altitude Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I live in Loveland, Colorado, on the front range of the Rockies. I have never had angel food cake made from scratch turn out for me. This one was perfect and Yummy! I used almond extract in place of orange and it was soooooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I love this cake. I live in Fort Collins Co just outside the Foot hills and this worked perfectly for me. I did increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe! This was the first time i have ever made angel food cake and it came out absolutely perfect- a beautiful cake with great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
We raise chickens so I make a lot of angel food cakes with all the egg whites, and this is by far the worst ever! I double checked to see if I omitted any ingredients, but found I'd followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellynn78
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Amazing cake! I live in the Denver area and this turned out great at our high altitude. I used A.P. flour and almond extract instead of lemon, and it's light, fluffy, and delicious! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
It was pretty good. It kind of had a sour flavor to it so it would probably be better to add a little more sugar. Also, make sure you sift the flour into the batter because it will stay clumpy when you put it into there. Have a lot of eggs on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I also live in a high altitude area, one hour north of Denver. Baking desserts is sometimes precarious. Thanks for this exceptional recipe for Angel Food Cake. The directions were easy to follow. I was surprised how quicky the batter came together. The only little change I made was using 1/2 teaspoon almond extract rather than the lemon. Lo and behold this cake was moist, flavorful, and much more substantial than boxed or store bought Angel Food. I cooked up a cup of frozen raspberries, 1/2 cup sugar, and a tablespoon of cornstarch making a sauce to pour over the cake. My family loved it. This should do well in lower altitudes if the egg whites are whipped longer, and 1/4 cup less flour is used. This was my first attempt at home made Angel Food, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was my first time ever to make a home-made angel food cake & it turned out great! I live in Denver & this recipe works for the altitude! I didn't have cake flour so I used 1 cup and 3 Tablespoons of regular flour & it still turned out fantastic! Great with frest fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I forgot to mention that it is VERY helpful to line the bottom of your pan with parchment paper or waxed paper. I usually fold the paper in half, then in half again... and then cut it to look like a slice of pizza (using the radius of the pan to measure.) Once I have the right size, I'll cut the bottom for the center hole. This helps avoid leaving 1/2 of the cake in the pan. It tastes good either way, but it is prettier when it stays in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States