High-Altitude Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I haven’t made this recipe yet… but I want to! I have only ever made one angel food cake and it was out of a box. We just moved to Colorado Springs from Nebraska and the cake did not turn out ha! I never thought about the altitude … SO! We are around 800 feet higher. What do you recommend me to do to alter the recipe?! Thanks! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The cake wasn't done after the prescribed cooking time, and I checked my oven to confirm the temperature. I think you might want to cook the cake until it is brown and cracked on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I live at 7,300 ft in northern NM and made the recipe with just a bit more flour. I should have upped the temp to 350F, then 400F because it didn't rise as much or brown as quickly as it should. Needed an extra 10 min. Will try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This recipe worked wonderfully! It didn't *deflate*. It does use a LOT of egg whites though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CIACHEF02
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I live in Wyoming and this was a great, I added some lemon zest and it made the cake even better. I used a butter cream to top it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIACHEF02

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
recipe worked well for me, although i did over bake it slightly the first time! my bad, not the recipe. the second time it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Absolutely delightful! This is my first stab at angel food cake baking. I researched and tried a recipe two nights ago from Allrecipes.com and it was a huge dud. Coarse texture, almost tough and not good taste. I then made this recipe the next night and oh the difference. I live in Thornton, Colorado, a north suburb of Denver, so the high altitude is always a challenge for cake baking. This recipe, however, has been adapted for our altitude and was amazing. Rose well, light texture, amazing taste. I took it for my friend's birthday cake and the 5 of ate and ate. I also used a recipe from Allrecipes for buttercream icing that was incredible. It is now our new favorite cake recipe, bumping dark chocolate cake out of first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
It turned out great! I am not a huge fan of the lemon extract but it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have been baking for many years and I did not care for this recipe. If you want a good recipe for angel food keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a fool-proof recipe! I finished the batter and stuck the cake in the oven and while cleaning up the dishes, I came across 1/2 cup of egg whites that I had accidently omitted from the recipe!! It still came out great. I'm sure with the appropriate amount of egg whites, the cake would have been even lighter and fluffier; but, like I said it was still great. I did use almond instead of lemon, but I'm sure either would've been wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States