Hidden Secret Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Very good burgers, only made one change by using shredded cheddar cheese instead of monteray jack. Came out slightly more well done than I generally like, will cook for a shorter time next time, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Delicious! I used pepper jack cheese instead of the peppers and monterey jack called for, and I was out of bread crumbs so I sub'd crushed corn flakes. Oh, and I threw in about a half a package of chili seasoning to the meat mixture. Served it with homemade buns (fron the site) and my hubby loved it =) Thanks for a great recipe! I'll defiantely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
These were pretty darn good. I used Italian bread crumbs and omitted the egg and added about 1/4 of really cold, cold water. Just don't like my burgers tasting like meatloaf and the water makes for a juicier hamburger. The peppers gave a great jolt. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Ok, well I didn't want to go to the store today, so I made a few substitutions - homemade hot sauce for Tabasco; diced chipotle peppers from a can; regular extra-sharp Cheddar - and although they were WAY too spicy for me, Husband really loved them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very Good. I made them exactly as stated, but cooked them on the stove top instead of the oven. They tasted like meatloaf. I made them for christmas dinner, and I got away with it. I called them Christmas burgers, because they had a red, white, and green present on the inside. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
These are awesome! Both me and my husband love them. I used some green chilies also in the pepper mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I didn't actually use this recipe, I just used the idea to put cheese and chopped jalepenos into the center as suggested here. It was pretty tasty, but my cheese went away. It wasn't in the burger, or the pan. Where'd my cheese go?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Outstanding. I cut some of the chili peppers out as my DH can't eat spicy, also cut the pepper sauce down to 1 teasp. substituted 2 oz (for doubled recipe) cold, cold water as suggested instead of egg, also used more cheese. and since i did not have the one in the recipe, i used Cheddar. This is great. was a huge hit. the only thing is mine needed about 30 minutes in the oven. probably difference in ovens. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Very moist burger with just a hint of kick to it. I will serve these again to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stover, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Taste too much like meat loaf..and a meat loaf sandwhich to me should be cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States