Hester's Red Velvet Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
My mom and I have made this frosting for years. It is our frosting of choice for all cakes. It is especially good on the Hot Milk Sponge Cake. We add a teaspoon of Butternut flavoring as it enhances the taste. Also, when creaming the shortening and sugar, make sure the mixture is very smooth and not grainy! The longer you beat the frosting after you add the "paste" the fluffier the frosting. To Luv2cook: try using butter in place of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have been making this since the late 50's. I use butter (Margarine works also) instead of Crisco. Add 1/4 tsp. Rum flavoring and 1/2 tsp. Vanilla. The other trick is to add sugar a TLBS at a time mixing well after each addition. This de-solves the granules so you have a smooth texture. Give it a try this will make such a difference to the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I thought I would give this a go as I had never made this type of frosting with shortening. It tasted too much of shortening for me. I added about 1.5 tbl of vanilla to try mask the flavour. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is similar to the filling in good old fashioned twinkies and the original filling type for Whoopie Pies(or Gobs) before the invention of Marshmallow Fluff. To tweak this recipe for flavor: add 1 cup of real butter to the existing ingredients, the shortening must be the Crisco brand or it really doesn't have quite the same flavor/texture,(using butter flavored crisco instead of butter AND Crisco doesn't seem to work). Change the white sugar to powdered sugar and double it to 2 cups, it won't be overly sweet. The powdered sugar also has cornstarch in it that will help to thicken the mixture. The flour can be cut back to 2 Tbsp because of the powdered sugar effects. Double the vanilla to 2 tsp, use clear vanilla if you would like a really white frosting. A faster way than to "cook"(Ermine or boiled milk frosting method): have all ingredients at room temperature. Using a stand mixer (helpful as the mixing process can be long)keep mixing until frosting comes together. (a hand mixer can be used, just have to stand there mixing and mixing for quite some time). The mixture starts off as a runny, globby mess, and the longer it is mixed, it magically comes together into a fluffy white frosting. Depending on the size of the cake, all of the recipe ingredients could be cut in half. One reviewer made an excellent observation, this frosting IS stable at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I love this icing!!!! This is what my mother and grandmother made for the red velvet cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I have made this icing 2 times now, the first time I made it with half butter and half softening. We really liked it, but I was still concerned about eating so much softening. The second time I used all butter and added cocoa powder. WOW, It was the best icing ever!!! This is now my go to icing. No more icing powder for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is the best and the Original Recipe, which was handed down in my family 3 generations. This is the true icing for Red Velvet Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I have to agree with another viewer that this frosting tastes too strongly of shortening. It actually has left an aftertaste in my mouth, so I will have to try something else for my red velvet cupcakes. I suggest maybe using butter instead in this recipe. It is easy to make, but not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Finally!! This is the only (and best) way to frost a Red Velvet Cake. I grew up in the South and this is the way we like our RV Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackshear, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The frosting was easy to make and had a good texture. However, the taste was disappointing. It had a strong after taste of vegetable shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinnyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Make a Golf Cake

Make this cool green cake for the putter in your life.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States