Hershey's® Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made my own mistake of using dark cocoa so it looked like a chocolate cake, but as in other reviews, I also thought that this cake was very dry. I followed the rest of the directions exactly. I took it to work. Only half got eaten. Not a terrible cake, but certainly not what I would expect from a Hershey's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I love to bake, but this was my first time making a red velvet cake. I must say . . it turned out beautifully!! The color was just right, the taste was just right and I even bought buttercream icing, which was perfect with the taste. My friend stopped by to sample my cake and after tasting another version of this cake the following day we both agreed that this recipe was by far the best! I followed it as written and made a double layer cake instead of the 9x13 pan. Yes you must used 2 tablespoons, pratically the entire bottle of red food coloring and 1/3 cup of the Hershey's cocoa powder. I threw in a couple of chocolate chips, which just made it yummier. I recommend this to anyone that doesn't mind get a little messy while they cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
When I saw the hershey recipe, I thought that I had found a great recipe, afterall it's by Hershey, right? Wrong! There are so many changes that I had to make that I won't be making this cake again! First of all the red food colouring...2 Tbsp is NOT enough. I increased this to 2 oz of red food colouring (two-1oz bottles) -the next thing I changed was the flour, instead of all purpose, I used cake flour, and increased it to 2 1/2 cups, and I increased the butter to 1 cup. Next, I omitted the vinegar, and decreased the baking soda to 1 1/4 tsp -quite simply there is NO need for vinegar, to be used in a red velvet cake as long as buttermilk is in the recipe, buttermilk is acidic enough to get the baking soda to rise. I also decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp. The vanilla gave it a subtle flavour, but normally I do not use vanilla in my red velvet cakes. Lastly, the quantity of cocoa was way too much, red velvet cake should have a hint of chocolate, but not be overwhelming, therefore I reduced the amount to 3 Tbsp. I didn't make it heart shaped, though I'm sure the cake would be gorgeous as a valentines day cake. I didn't use the vanilla frosting or the mini chocolate chips, I chose to use a fluffy white icing that comes from my mom, no cream cheese for this Red Velvet Snob! I truly wish I could have given this cake a higher rank, but after so much time consuming changes, I have to give it a three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was good, but I have had better red velvet cakes. I think I will try out some other recipes before coming back to this one. Maybe I didn't add enough red food coloring, but mine really just looked dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
my husband's favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Made this recipe for Valentine's Day for my family. I had never made it before. It turned out great! Smelled great, looked great, tasted great. I used cream cheese frosint. YUM. Be sure you DO flour the pan before pouring the batter in. Wonderful recipe. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I made this a long time ago for my husband's birthday and hated it. Swore I would never make one again. The color was a big turnoff. I am not a fan of red velvet cakes anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I have tried this recipe I would agree it is not the best red velvet cake recipe I have used, However the red velvet cake that I have had since I was a little kid was indeed a dark reddish brown rather than fire engine red. Red Velvet cake is best with a buttercream icing and the chocolate flavoring is meant to be subtle otherwise it would just be a chocolate cake with red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Strange texture and sub-par flavor. Do not bother with this cake. You are better off with cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe was very easy and my family loved it! This cake is going to be a tradition from now on. The cake itself was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States