Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Why, oh why, do people think they can substitute ingredients willy-nilly and still get a good result? This is baking, folks. You need to follow the recipe. This recipe, for example, calls for oil for a reason -- not shortening. If you don't have enough oil, then you need to: A) go get more oil; B) find a recipe that calls for something other than oil; or C) substitute as you will, don't complain when the recipe doesn't turn out well. I made this cake by following the recipe and it is perfect and perfectly delicious. Not dense, not spongy, not too chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This recipe is ingredient for ingredient and amount for amount the recipe on the back of a Hershey's Cocoa can , only they called it Deep Dark Chocolate Cake. The frosting recipe on the can is only slightly different and suggests different amounts of the cocoa depending on flavor desired: 1/3 cup for light flavor, 1/2 cup for medium flavor, and 3/4 cup for dark flavor. That may help some people who think it's too chocolatey. It also states on the can that the butter is to be softened, as another review notes. Then it says to cream the butter in a small mixer bowl. This current recipe says melt. You may get better results with the softened idea. And as always, you can't go substituting too far off the beaten path with either the cake recipe or the frosting and think you're getting what other people are raving about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Ever since I found this recipe, it has been my "tried and true" chocolate cake recipe. I use 1 cup of hot, strong, fresh brewed coffee instead of the boiling water. I have also used evaporated milk, and it makes the cake sooooo dense and moist! This is a great recipe, the frosting and cake are to die for! I have baked the cake in a 9 x 13 pan, a bundt pan, and giant muffin tins. If any of you are looking for a great chocolate cake recipe, look no further, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
What a huge disappointment! I made this recipe to a "T" and I can't believe how much I don't like it. With all of the wonderful ratings I was just sure we were going to be in chocolate heaven by now - NOT! This cake overflowed the bundt pan, was spongy, chewy, crumbly, stuck to the pan and was not sweet at all. I kept thinking that I was chewing a mildly chocolate flavored sponge. Don't even bother telling me that I must have done something wrong, I didn't. I have been baking for 30 years and certainly know how to make a cake; this one just isn't my cup of tea. Thanks anyway, and I truly am glad that so many like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I have made this cake for contests and for catering events. People that love chocolate, love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake - very moist. It's just two of us so I scaled the reciped for a single layer and baked in my 8 x 8 for 30 - 35 minutes. I didn't melt the butter for the frosting - that just didn't sound right to me - I softened it instead. I thought it would be creamier but it tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I absolutely love this cake and everyone who has ever eaten this dessert has always praised me for making it! Just a few changed I make...I add half a package of chocolate fudge Jello pudding mix to my dry ingredients. The pudding mix makes this cake soooo moist! (You can do this with homemade cookies, too!) I drop the cooking temp. by about 25 degrees (my oven runs a little high) and and do not cook as long as directed. Instead I pull out the cakes 5-6 min. early and then cover with foil. The heat being trapped will continue to cook the inside of the cake. If you leave the foil on for several hours the cake will be even more moist. For the frosting, I use 'Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting' from this website. Garnish cake with chocolate shavings and mmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Being an American living in the Netherlands, I have a hard time making good cakes. The flour here is higher in gluten than in the USA and many recipes come out the consistency of construction material bricks. THIS cake came out perfect! Light and fluffy with a great taste. Possibly the only thing I'd do differently is add a little more cocoa for an intense burst of chocolate. Super recipe, though. Susanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
If I could give this cake 6 stars, I would!! This is by far THE best chocolate cake I have ever had! The cake batter mixes up really thin after adding the water. Don't worry - it will bake up to be very dense and rich. I made one yesterday for my husband's birthday. We ate one piece each, then shared with friends. I am baking another one right now to take to work tomorrow. I don't share recipes until they are up to my high standards. This one definitely is! Note: if you want a little different taste to the cake, try adding strong coffee instead of the hot water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pprinss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Excellent recipe! I made this for my husbands birthday he loved it (as well as out two year old). The recipe was perfect. It came out exactly as shown and was very moist. I made a peanut butter frosting for the center between two layers with a chocolate peanut butter frosting for the outside of the cake, topping it off with reeses pieces. Def 5 stars! ***** :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States