Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very simple and solid. Also I don't follow instructions well and like to wing it.. I found this recipe to be forgiving. Also I added a bit more cocoa powder and squirted actual hershey's syrup in the cake batter. Additionally I did a 2 layer and just poured hershey syrup between 2 thin layers.. I also made extra icing and made it intentionally a little softer. It had a great sheen to it and I poured it over intentionally so the sides had big mounds of frosting dripping over. I had planned that the icing would harden slightly and it worked perfectly. Further more - the finishing touch I took a hershey syrup bottle and in script wrote in the name of who I did it for and a quick flower outline. I did it after the frosting harded a bit BUT before it was too hard.. the syrup just sunk in a little bit and looked awesome. Plus it added enough chocolate boost. I plan on adding cream cheese to the base to make it denser but less caky next time I make it. But not a single complaint on my end except I thought to myself. hmm.. just a wee bit too much like a box cake.. better flavor but I'll kick it up a notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Love this recipe. I don't bake much so I was hesitant at first to try. This cake was awesome. It was so moist it fell apart (however I rushed before letting it cool because the family couldn't wait either:) but to me that's a good thing because the taste is what matters the most! I also added a half cup mayo & tbsp lemon to the mix while blending while following the rest exactly. For the icing I added cream cheese to make it a little creamier, it was mouth watering de-LISH! And I used a generic brand name baking cocoa. The cake was good plain, not too sweet but just right. The icing is what topped the cake and made the perfect sweetness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is my families go to chocolate cake recipe. Really moist cake. The icing is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Very good chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've been baking for a LONG time, and this is the most delicious and reliable chocolate cake recipe I have ever found. It's also fairly economical and contains ingredients I usually have one hand, so this is my go-to dark chocolate cake recipe for true chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This cake was moist, rich, chocolaty, and delicious! Instead of the one cup of boiling water I did one cup of boiling water with 1 1/2 tablespoons of instant coffee dissolved in. I think if I hadn't done that it wouldn't have been as chocolaty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Awesome...Just do as it says and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeatlesFan
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Lovely cake. One thing I would suggest, however, is sifting the flour, sugar, and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I have made this cake for many years. It has NEVER failed me (first time I saw the recipe it was in a magazine). I was nervous when I saw how thin the batter was the first time, but it always comes out perfect. Chocolaty and moist and sooooo yummy. I have always frosted it with the frosting recipe it came with, my 4 sons all love this cake. I cannot imagine ever using another chocolate cake recipe. It makes a beautiful double layer cake and so simple as sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is my go to chocolate cake recipe. I have made this as a bundt cake with a chocolate glaze, I have made this with Peanut Butter Frosting and of course as the recipe calls for with the chocolate Frosting. This recipe has never failed me and always is guaranteed to deliver outstanding flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States