Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I baked this for my older sister's 18th birthday and it stuck to the pan even if I already greased it. So I had to cut it in half! LOL But I was able to cover it up with HUGE dabs of white icing. The taste was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andSahar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines
Living In: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
my cake turned out awesome but only because i made a couple changes- i substituted 1 cup of water with one cup of fresh brewed coffee, also substituted applesauce for the oil and it was delicious! Also, for the frosting i only added 2 cups of sugar and it was super sweet, might not even need that much! definitely not 3 cups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very easy to make. Usually have all ingredients on hand. Teenagers really liked it, especially the icing. It was good, don't need to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This cake was SO SO good! I couldn't find my personal Choc cake recipe so I had to rush and find one on AR. I have to admit, this one may possibly come in close competition to my own recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have been dying for a great chocolate cake and this was the perfect one! My family couldn't stop eating it! I'm making it again next weekend for my extended family, and I will keep making it until I'm sick of chocolate! Amazing recipe!!! It is the perfect chocolate cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Oh my goodness. This is a great cake for any occassion. We made it for the first time a few weeks ago for a cousins birthday. We are having it again with sweetened Raspberry sauce for Valentines Dinner.*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very good cake. I did not add the 1 tsp salt to the cake portion. Just seemed like a lot of salt on top of the baking soda. The frosting was a good consistency. I added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the frosting and thought it was a nice compliment to the chocolately-ness of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made 2 bundt cakes and it was really simple to make. The cakes turned out to be rich, moist and chocolately. I would suggest adding another teaspoon of vanilla extract and dissolved coffee granules for a deeper, intenser flavor. I'm surprised it tasted so good without any butter. I'll be making this recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very simple and solid. Also I don't follow instructions well and like to wing it.. I found this recipe to be forgiving. Also I added a bit more cocoa powder and squirted actual hershey's syrup in the cake batter. Additionally I did a 2 layer and just poured hershey syrup between 2 thin layers.. I also made extra icing and made it intentionally a little softer. It had a great sheen to it and I poured it over intentionally so the sides had big mounds of frosting dripping over. I had planned that the icing would harden slightly and it worked perfectly. Further more - the finishing touch I took a hershey syrup bottle and in script wrote in the name of who I did it for and a quick flower outline. I did it after the frosting harded a bit BUT before it was too hard.. the syrup just sunk in a little bit and looked awesome. Plus it added enough chocolate boost. I plan on adding cream cheese to the base to make it denser but less caky next time I make it. But not a single complaint on my end except I thought to myself. hmm.. just a wee bit too much like a box cake.. better flavor but I'll kick it up a notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Love this recipe. I don't bake much so I was hesitant at first to try. This cake was awesome. It was so moist it fell apart (however I rushed before letting it cool because the family couldn't wait either:) but to me that's a good thing because the taste is what matters the most! I also added a half cup mayo & tbsp lemon to the mix while blending while following the rest exactly. For the icing I added cream cheese to make it a little creamier, it was mouth watering de-LISH! And I used a generic brand name baking cocoa. The cake was good plain, not too sweet but just right. The icing is what topped the cake and made the perfect sweetness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States