Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This cake came out perfectly! I followed another reviewer's advice and substituted strong coffee for the boiling water, which really brings out the chocolate flavour. This recipe has been around forever, and it's a classic for a reason. So good, especially with the chocolate buttercream--and I'm typically not even an icing fan. This will become my staple chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is the best from scratch chocolate cake recipe I have found. It is very moist and chocolatey. I made these into cupcakes, which can have the tendancy to dry out, but these remained moist days later. I am already craving this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I've been making cakes for years and these are the worst cupcakes I have ever made! I read all the reviews and haughtily thought "they must be doing something wrong!". They look amazing in the oven but sink as soon as they come out and turn to mush in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This cake is AMAZING. Yes it's the recipe on the back of the Hershey's box, so what? It's not like they are claiming it isn't a Hershey's cake! I always make the bundt cake and it's divine. My roommates love it, my co-workers love it, EVERYONE loves it. For the frosting, I usually only use half the confectioners' sugar it calls for. It makes a delicious dark chocolate frosting that even people who never eat the frosting gobble it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This cake is awesome.......my family loves it....I do add a few extra ingredients to spruce it up to my liking, but all in all and awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I'd give this recipe 4 stars for taste and texture (I like a "lighter" cake texture), but 2 for ease of use for making cupcakes. It's hard to put the batter in cupcake tins without creating a huge mess. I will try it in a 2-layer cake, and will use the coffee suggestion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
The one and only chocolate cake recipe you will ever need. I've been making this cake for 15 years for my family. Every time I make it there are rave reviews. I make it in a sheet cake and tonight I am making cupcakes with the recipe. My husband loves this frozen, as well. Nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I've made this cake for a few years and I love it! I won second place with it in the chocolate cake category (against a lot of other entries) at the fair a couple of years ago. Today I tried dissolving instant coffee in the boiling water for the the batter and warmed milk for the frosting. I will never do it another way! Takes it to a whole other level! For the people with the problem of the cake running over--are you sure you are using a 9" pan and not an 8"? But more than likely, your oven is too hot and your cake is rising too fast. Try splitting the cake up between 3-9" pans and bake for about 18 minutes, I think. I use a TON of Baker's Joy and usually parchment because this cake is so moist, it tends to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Yummm!! I followed the recipe for the cake just as it was written, (imagine that.) I was a little worried about the center at first... it looked as if it was going to fall in...but it turned out fine. We all LOVED the taste...and it was very moist. I used a different frosting recipe. :D I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
yummy....made this exactly how the recipe stated...i did add a tbs of coffee to the cake and frosting to bring out the chocolte flavor...made into cupcakes....this is a keeper.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States