Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've used this recipe for years, never failed, always wonderful. Follow the recipe, don't substitute, bake as directed and it will be delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela Smith-Dean
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
best chocolate cake ever! i have made a few changes to make it my own. 1cup buttermilk(or 1 c. milk plus 1tbs. lemon juice) 1cup coffee(made with boiling water/instant espresso powder) omit the oil! use 1cup soft butter!!!!!!!!! trust me! these changes have created a cake that is sooooo moist and flavorful! the leftovers(if any!) keep so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith-Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is the one by which all other chocolate cakes are judged and none have been better. It is perfect in flavor and consistancy, IMO. The only changes I make are to use melted butter instead of the oil and fresh hot coffee instead of the water. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is uber moist and chocolately cake ever!! Got raves from co-workers and birthday boy-smash hit! YUM! Easy to make and easy to make into cupcakes too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe ever! I just love how easy it is to make and how moist it is. I usually split the recipe in half, but round the flour up to 1 cup, then make 12 nicely sized cupcakes that take 15 to 20 minutes to bake. Thanks for the great recipe, this is the only chocolate cake recipe that I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My moms been making this recipe all my life and I started making it with her when I was very young. It's still my favorite chocolate cake. It just doesn't get any better then this. I make it exactly as the recipe calls for, no changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake - very moist. It's just two of us so I scaled the reciped for a single layer and baked in my 8 x 8 for 30 - 35 minutes. I didn't melt the butter for the frosting - that just didn't sound right to me - I softened it instead. I thought it would be creamier but it tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe turned out great for me. It was the first time I tried a cake from scratch and I was not dissapointed - I will continue to use it since hubby says its right up there with his grandmas chocolate cake. I made peanut butter icing instead of the chocolate icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States