Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
While it is very dark chocolate colored, the chocolate flavor just isn't there for me. Very dense cake. I made cupcakes and the tops were very sticky. Thanks anyway. It is also the same recipe as the Extreme Chocolate Cake here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
SOOOO Good. Greatest chocolate cake recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
5 STARS ALL THE WAY! This is the best chocolate cake and frosting I have ever made! I had tasted the frosting when my mother made it so I knew I would love it. However, when I made it, it was thinner; so, a call to Mom and her secret was out. You have to beat it a long time until it gets fluffier. So good!! Thank you Hershey's for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
My first attempt at making a cake from scratch and the result...The best chocolate cake I ever had! I also tried to make cupcakes with this same recipe, but those turned out a little dry. Cake though...Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I am giving the frosting 5 stars. I have not tried the cake yet but I did use the frosting on vanilla cupcakes and it was really good. I will probably make this my go to chocolate frosting recipe. It is a very sweet fluffy chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made the following changes: substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil; substituted espresso for the water; substituted Special Dark cocoa for the regular (Dutch process cocoa). The icing for this is really great. Husband totally digs this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This chocolate cake is awesome. I made a baby rattle cake for my baby shower and used vanilla icing...Delicious. I found myself craving chocolate again so I made this cake but I put peanut butter frosting in between the 2 layers. I frosted the whole cake in chocolate and then crushed reese cups on top. I kept the cake in the frig due to the milk in the frosting and I didnt want the peanut butter cups to melt. It was great with a glass of cold milk :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have found this recipe to be wonderful every time I prepared it! I also agree that following the directions exactly as written is the key to the best results. The only part I occasionally vary is the chocolate frosting for peanut butter frosting : ) Both top this perfect chocolate cake very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is the only chocolate cake recipe I use anymore! It's perfect every time. I follow the directions exactly. It's great for cupcakes as well as the multilayer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been making this for years! WONDERFUL AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melantodd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States