Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
My first attempt at making a cake from scratch and the result...The best chocolate cake I ever had! I also tried to make cupcakes with this same recipe, but those turned out a little dry. Cake though...Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I am giving the frosting 5 stars. I have not tried the cake yet but I did use the frosting on vanilla cupcakes and it was really good. I will probably make this my go to chocolate frosting recipe. It is a very sweet fluffy chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made the following changes: substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil; substituted espresso for the water; substituted Special Dark cocoa for the regular (Dutch process cocoa). The icing for this is really great. Husband totally digs this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This chocolate cake is awesome. I made a baby rattle cake for my baby shower and used vanilla icing...Delicious. I found myself craving chocolate again so I made this cake but I put peanut butter frosting in between the 2 layers. I frosted the whole cake in chocolate and then crushed reese cups on top. I kept the cake in the frig due to the milk in the frosting and I didnt want the peanut butter cups to melt. It was great with a glass of cold milk :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have found this recipe to be wonderful every time I prepared it! I also agree that following the directions exactly as written is the key to the best results. The only part I occasionally vary is the chocolate frosting for peanut butter frosting : ) Both top this perfect chocolate cake very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is the only chocolate cake recipe I use anymore! It's perfect every time. I follow the directions exactly. It's great for cupcakes as well as the multilayer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been making this for years! WONDERFUL AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Baca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I wanted to make cupcakes with this recipe, and I followed the directions on the back of the box of Hershey's cocoa exactly. Not a bad flavor(though not chocolaty enough), but the texture was just weird--very spongy and a bit dry. I know I didn't over-bake these, so I don't know what could have gone wrong, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good recipe and super easy too. It's pretty much fool-proof. I searched all around for a good chocolate cake recipe that I could use as my "go to" recipe, and this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla925

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Pay absolutely no attention to the few negative reviews. They insist they are not doing anything wrong, but I insist they are. This cake is moist, delicious and full of chocolate flavor. It is by far our favorite cake recipe, and has been for more than 25 years. One hint to the naysayers: You must measure your ingredients carefully, and do not Whip or Beat the hot water into the batter. The recipe says stir, so stir. Not once has my batter overflowed the pan, and I've made this cake at least 100 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States