Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The frosting is so delicious.. But I only added about 190gms of icing sugar...which is half of what the recipe states..I suggest that those who prefer a more deeper bittersweet chocolate flavor to do that too.. and add a little more milk instead...the cake however was very moist so it sort of crumbled as i tried to make a two layer cake..so its impt that u let it cool completely before frosting it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This cake is out of this world and so is the frosting. So moist. The frosting is perfect. I love this recipe and I followed it just as it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i've been making this cake for years and it is so much better than boxed cake - so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Soooo moist and delicious... It was better 2 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I've made this over and over...don't know how I haven't memorized the recipe yet. It's definitely moist and chocolaty. It's just a little hard to spread icing on it because it's so moist. Otherwise, it's my go-to chocolate cake recipe for the longest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This has to be THE best chocolate cake and chocolate icing I have ever had! Very moist, not too sweet, absolutely perfect! My husband and daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It is absolutely that good,and the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. I worked at a high end local bakery and this was the recipe they used!! Need I say more. You'll never bake another chocolate cake after you've made and tasted this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
WOW. (And I know my cakes.) Even the frosting, I mean really, I couldn't believe how good this cake is (and I didn't even make it). This recipe is the best, bar none. A friend of mine made it & told me where she got the recipe - from the back of the Hershey's Cocoa tin! The cocoa is unusually dark - almost purple, but the end result is just fantastic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
i've made this cake and it was great. my mom asked me to bake this on my niece birthday AND HELP: what will i use for the lettering like ?hoping for replies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
For cake only, not the icing: I've tried about 10 different recipes for the perfect from scratch chocolate cake and this was the best by far! I followed the directions exactly no subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States