Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My family loves this moist cake. I made this cake with buttermilk and dark cocoa. I used a bundt pan. Since I live at high altitude I had to make a few changes. I added an extra egg, adjusted the oil by using 1/3 cup. This was wonderful! See my personal recipe--http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/64029545/high-altitude-perfectly-chocolate-chocolate-bundt-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
finally found a good chocolate cake recipe.will make it again.didnt make the frosting though,wanted to jst taste the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe was recommended to me by Lucky Noodles on the Buzz when I was on the hunt for the perfect birthday cake for my sister. Needless to say, this is an unbelievable delicious and yum cake that was a complete winner - and was polished off in no time! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
No wonder this is one of Hershey's enduring, signature recipes. You'll not find a more "perfectly chocolate" chocolate cake. It's easy to mix up, moist, and incredibly chocolate-y. To enhance the chocolate flavor I substituted hot coffee for the water. Half a recipe made 12 cupcakes, baked at about 20-23 minutes, but keep in mind that oven temperatures and sizes of cupcake pans vary. I used my own chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I have just made this cake for my friend's birthday it was a HIT everyone liked it I followed the recipe. All I can say is try it.The cake is so easy to make and no left over egg yolks to use up like there is with some other recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
The best! I can eat the frosting all by itself....super yum......must use Hershey cocoa though....dont skimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
You cant go wrong with this recipe! This is almost the same recipe iv been using for years! I did use 1 cup brown sugar instead Of all regular and used half milk half sourcream and coffee instead Of water...moist and Delicioso!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
While it is very dark chocolate colored, the chocolate flavor just isn't there for me. Very dense cake. I made cupcakes and the tops were very sticky. Thanks anyway. It is also the same recipe as the Extreme Chocolate Cake here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
SOOOO Good. Greatest chocolate cake recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
5 STARS ALL THE WAY! This is the best chocolate cake and frosting I have ever made! I had tasted the frosting when my mother made it so I knew I would love it. However, when I made it, it was thinner; so, a call to Mom and her secret was out. You have to beat it a long time until it gets fluffier. So good!! Thank you Hershey's for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States