Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is uber moist and chocolately cake ever!! Got raves from co-workers and birthday boy-smash hit! YUM! Easy to make and easy to make into cupcakes too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe ever! I just love how easy it is to make and how moist it is. I usually split the recipe in half, but round the flour up to 1 cup, then make 12 nicely sized cupcakes that take 15 to 20 minutes to bake. Thanks for the great recipe, this is the only chocolate cake recipe that I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My moms been making this recipe all my life and I started making it with her when I was very young. It's still my favorite chocolate cake. It just doesn't get any better then this. I make it exactly as the recipe calls for, no changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake - very moist. It's just two of us so I scaled the reciped for a single layer and baked in my 8 x 8 for 30 - 35 minutes. I didn't melt the butter for the frosting - that just didn't sound right to me - I softened it instead. I thought it would be creamier but it tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe turned out great for me. It was the first time I tried a cake from scratch and I was not dissapointed - I will continue to use it since hubby says its right up there with his grandmas chocolate cake. I made peanut butter icing instead of the chocolate icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is my favorite chocolate cake ever! I don't always make the frosting, because it's very rich, but this is by far the best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This cake came out perfectly! I followed another reviewer's advice and substituted strong coffee for the boiling water, which really brings out the chocolate flavour. This recipe has been around forever, and it's a classic for a reason. So good, especially with the chocolate buttercream--and I'm typically not even an icing fan. This will become my staple chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is the best from scratch chocolate cake recipe I have found. It is very moist and chocolatey. I made these into cupcakes, which can have the tendancy to dry out, but these remained moist days later. I am already craving this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States