Hershey's ® 'Perfectly Chocolate' Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've used this recipe for years, never failed, always wonderful. Follow the recipe, don't substitute, bake as directed and it will be delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela Smith-Dean
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
best chocolate cake ever! i have made a few changes to make it my own. 1cup buttermilk(or 1 c. milk plus 1tbs. lemon juice) 1cup coffee(made with boiling water/instant espresso powder) omit the oil! use 1cup soft butter!!!!!!!!! trust me! these changes have created a cake that is sooooo moist and flavorful! the leftovers(if any!) keep so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith-Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is the one by which all other chocolate cakes are judged and none have been better. It is perfect in flavor and consistancy, IMO. The only changes I make are to use melted butter instead of the oil and fresh hot coffee instead of the water. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is uber moist and chocolately cake ever!! Got raves from co-workers and birthday boy-smash hit! YUM! Easy to make and easy to make into cupcakes too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe ever! I just love how easy it is to make and how moist it is. I usually split the recipe in half, but round the flour up to 1 cup, then make 12 nicely sized cupcakes that take 15 to 20 minutes to bake. Thanks for the great recipe, this is the only chocolate cake recipe that I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My moms been making this recipe all my life and I started making it with her when I was very young. It's still my favorite chocolate cake. It just doesn't get any better then this. I make it exactly as the recipe calls for, no changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake - very moist. It's just two of us so I scaled the reciped for a single layer and baked in my 8 x 8 for 30 - 35 minutes. I didn't melt the butter for the frosting - that just didn't sound right to me - I softened it instead. I thought it would be creamier but it tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe turned out great for me. It was the first time I tried a cake from scratch and I was not dissapointed - I will continue to use it since hubby says its right up there with his grandmas chocolate cake. I made peanut butter icing instead of the chocolate icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States